Chisel Time

I’m not sure where the week has gone, but it has really flown by. I believe most of the area schools start back next week and I’m sure all of the school kids/teachers are thinking the same thing – “where did the summer go?”

Monday and Tuesday ended up being family days, I got to watch my two oldest grandsons – Jaiden, 10 and Dylan, 9 and helping Katie. I’m out of practice watching the older and more scheming grandkids. They sure put me on my toes; I will be more prepared for the next visit. Katie got her cast off of her leg Tuesday and she got to go back to work on Wednesday. I think she was glad to be back, but a little sad too, her regular routine isn’t as easy as it was, but she is mending nicely along with her 19 screws.

Tuesday night, I went to the Astro’s game with Brenda W and Cheryl C and we had a great time. We ended up going into an extra inning due to a tie, but luckily it was only one inning and best of all we WON with a walk-off homerun!

Brenda, myself and Cheryl

Brenda, myself and Cheryl

Wednesday was a good day to stay home and I have to say, I was a little worn out, therefore it was a rest/sew day. I worked on my mini saw tooth stars, I cut out for 10 more. I also got to work on a trade that I’m doing with my friend, Linda H. She and I are trading 6 paper-pieced pineapple blocks that finish at 2 ½ inches. They are so cute, she is using a common brown and I’m using a common red. I got them all done and was trimming them up and after I made 3 cuts, I realized something was wrong! I had trimmed off my quarter inch seam allowance. Ugh! I had to trim off the last row all around and re-sew it on. Luckily, I did get it fixed and it was a lot better than sewing it all over again, so I kept that one.

my sections for my mini sawtooth stars

my sections for my mini sawtooth stars

10 more sawtooth stars

10 more sawtooth stars

my pineapple blocks and my oops block

my pineapple blocks and my oops block

2 pineapple blocks

2 pineapple blocks

Ivy and I traded fabric strips to finish up the checkerboard border on Thursday for the Thimblecreek pumpkin quilt. Friday I started working on the borders. I needed to make my strip sets and then make 265 4-patch units. I didn’t think I would ever finish making those, but little by little I did. I need to make 20 side borders and 5 long sashing borders. I think I’m halfway there. I sure like how it is coming along.

4-patches in the making

4-patches in the making

the beginnings of my borders

the beginnings of my borders

4-patches

4-patches

one down and 19 to go

one down and 19 to go

I think I'm halfway

I think I’m halfway

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chisel Time

  1. Lori says:

    Beautiful work!

Leave a Reply

