Rotary Cutter on Fire

A lot of things have been in the works around here, I’ve been cutting up fabric to make a couple of projects. First I needed to cut fabrics for a swap where we make “Yes We Can, America”. It is a pattern by Norma Whaley. I first saw this pattern in March at the spring retreat with the Lakeview guild and when it was presented to me, I said, “I’m in”. You probably know by now that I love patriotic décor and yes was a no brainer!

It took me forever to get it all cut out, but now I just have to sew up a storm – but oh yes, I can! Ha!

pieces of Yes We Can, America

pieces of Yes We Can, America

all of these have to be re-filed

all of these have to be re-filed

We had a nice family gathering to celebrate Dylan’s 9th birthday on Sunday at a skating rink. I have not roller skated in years, I wanted to show them that this granny can skate, but I figured I’d fall, so I was a pew packer!

Dylan the birthday boy

Dylan the birthday boy

Jaiden, they sure are growing up

Jaiden, they sure are growing up

We added a new addition to the retreat house in the patriotic room. I ordered this lamp and it came in, now it is in it’s new home. I finally have all the lamps that I need for the retreat house. Wahoo! It’s a lamp designed by Jim Shore, look – his coat is a quilt design.

my new lamp

my new lamp

here's a close up of the lamp

here’s a close up of the lamp

After I got the other quilt cut out it was time to work on a project that I’ve wanted to make since 2012. In the past, I made lists of potential projects that I wanted to make. I think the first list I made was in 2011, Ms. Marion told me it was a good idea to do it and since I was a beginning quilter and I wanted to learn as much as I could, I took her suggestion. I even made the list last year, but I did not make one for this year. Who knows, the year isn’t over yet. I do keep a quilt journal of when I start a new project and then when I finish it. Do you keep a journal of what you do and if you give it away information?

Back in March at the spring retreat I mentioned to the girls sitting around me that I still had a quilt that I’d wanted to do and I have yet to find the time to it. They asked what was it and I said I wanted to make “Spool Quilt” out of a book titled Friendship Strips and Scraps by Edyta Sitar of Laundry Basket Quilts. Marcia H decided to work up the numbers and get it going. It is due in August and September and we are trading the inner spool sections.

Monday I pulled my scraps and sorted all the colors and started working on the spools. Well I think using scraps is great, but it sure takes up a lot of time. We are trading 40 spool sections, there are 8 fabrics cut 1-inch wide per spool. My 40 spools are now made.

strips for the spools

strips for the spools

my spool sections

my spool sections

this will give you an idea of what we are going to make

this will give you an idea of what we are going to make

I finished up my spools Tuesday night. The quilt requires 41, so I have one to make for myself, but I just had to go one more step. I wanted to see how it comes together and make a spool.

I cut the background so I could make a spool

I cut the background so I could make a spool

Oh, I like it! I’m excited; this one is going to be fun too!

one spool

one spool

Last September Cynthia R showed me her Thimble Creek quilt by Joe Wood pattern called “Rotogravure” aka pumpkin quilt. I fell in love with it and it is on the chopping block soon. We collected Halloween fabrics last year and it has gnawing at me, so I drug out all the fabric and started pairing up the colors for the different blocks. Cynthia’s quilt was a swap; this will not be a swap for me and I think that is a good thing.

I’ve been working on my Primitive Gatherings blocks, steadily working on something whenever I get a chance to work on any handwork. I finally finished my sashing piece for block one of the Somewhere in Time pattern. Progress is progress!

my sashing done

my sashing done

Today I finished up cutting all the brown tops for the spools and then I had to play with the ones that are mine and I sewed up all of mine! I think I will be spoolin’ around soon! Ha!

I had to make all of mine into spools

I had to make all of mine into spools

Last Thursday the Deer Park bee met and Karen McC showed off her itty-bitty sawtooth stars. They are 2 ½ inches and they finish at 2 inches. They are just so very cute and a little on the irresistible side. Today, I decided to play with them and make one! Oh my goodness – SEW cute! Karen warned me that they were addictive! I think she just might be right!

they fit in my hand

they fit in my hand

these are Karen's blocks

these are Karen’s blocks

my itty bitty sawtooth star

my itty bitty sawtooth star

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rotary Cutter on Fire

  1. Lori says:

    Love your blog and get so excited when I see your emails. Wish I could get my Louisiana group to your retreat house!

  2. Jeanne says:

    I did Edyta’s Spool quilt with an Internation exchange group on “the quilt show” website in 2012! Yikes, I’m just now working on applique. We might finish at the same time : ) I did finish some other projects, Edyta’s Tree of Life, etc before I could applique the Spool quilt. Love your background fabric. It shows off the spools very nicely.

    • ronda926 says:

      I recently learned how to work my scan and cut, but I’m planning 3 or 4 different projects so it might take me a while, but once I get excited no telling! ha! I did a mini tree of life with only 5 trees and I love how it turned out. my quilter even put my initials in one of the tree trunks and the year 2012 in one of the others – food for thought for you! Edyta is an amazing designer – love her work!

Leave a Reply

