One Step Closer

How was your weekend? It was sure hot here and a great weekend to stay inside and sew! I know, they all are! Tee Hee!

Thursday morning, I met Carol D from Sugarland at the retreat house. Their group stayed at the house in May and she wanted to give me a gift that their group made for the retreat house. I was very overwhelmed with their very kind and generous gift. Look what they made!

8 of the placemats

8 of the placemats

the other 8, notice one is AR crossroads

the other 8, notice one is AR crossroads

They are 16 different placemats; she said they wanted to do it to protect the table. I told her that I didn’t want anyone to mess them up! I thought they would be great to use to decorate throughout the house.

Each placemat is signed and dated May 2015. Thank you Bells and Whistles, they are very cute and I love them.

Thursday afternoon, I had 3 of my sew-sisters check in to our house to have a retreat for Cathy’s birthday. We had a great time. Three of us did handwork and Cathy worked on and completed her “Fire Island Hosta”.

Cathy's Fire Island Hosta

Cathy’s Fire Island Hosta

I worked on my Primitive Gatherings, Sunflower Gatherings. First I needed to sew my two sections together and then I set to stitch the finishing touches to complete all my blocks.

Little by little, I kept on task most of the time. 😉 I did have cooking to do, but still stitched. After all, we needed nourishment to sew! Wahoo!

Saturday morning, Cheryl and I went to the Painted Pony to get our month #5 clubhouse block. I finally got to make a meeting and I only had to pay $1! If you miss the meeting on the designated date and time, you have to pay $5. I know it isn’t really that much, but it adds up and it is the principle of the matter! It was good to see a bunch of people that I hadn’t seen in a long time and I got to meet some new people too, which was a lot of fun.

After the meeting I went home and Brenda and Cheryl gave Cathy and I lessons on the Scan N’Cut. I watched Brenda and Cathy and then I pulled out my fabrics and we played. I finally conquered it…I think! Ha! Well, at least for this project. I played with the fabrics and figured out where I wanted to place the fusible and then I placed it the mat and cut out ALL of my 16 dresses. I even cut out my little dress forms and the waistbands.

my fabrics for my dresses

my fabrics for my dresses

this is the template I made for placing the dresses on the blocks

this is the template I made for placing the dresses on the blocks

my waistbands

my waistbands

It was so exciting; I even cut out the blocks and ironed on all the dresses on the blocks. I was on a roll! I got all the dresses done and then set it aside. I wanted to figure out the Scan N’Cut and I got the “Pretty Dresses” to a point that I could just sit and sew. I was one happy camper!

my dresses ready to be stitched

my dresses ready to be stitched

Back on task I go; I needed to finish all my stitching for my wool and finally I’m excited to report that I did get all my finishing touches done! What a huge relief! I’m still not finished I have the outer border to do, but I’m one step closer to finishing this quilt.

my inside is done, border next

my inside is done, border next

this block is one of my favorites

this block is one of my favorites

and this one is the other fav!

and this one is the other fav!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to One Step Closer

  1. Judy Rodriguez says:

    How many quilts have you made in total? You do beautiful work.

    • ronda926 says:

      I have started over 57, but I have about 10 or so that I haven’t quite finished yet and over 30 miniature quilts done. Thank you Judy! I sure enjoy them!

  2. Lori says:

    Love your blog. so happy I found you. I want to come to a quilt retreat in Houston!!!

    • ronda926 says:

      me too! and thank you! come on, i’d love to have you here. we do have openings for the class in August, paper piecing with Denise Green. it is on my website under classes – maybe you can come.

  3. I want a lesson on the scan and cut too! I will bring mine in August!

Leave a Reply

