Dirty Out, Clean In

After I got home from Wimberley on Thursday and was about to unpack I realized that I’d be driving to Tyler Friday about 1, so I decided just to pull out the dirty clothes and pack clean clothes. I had agreed to keep Wyatt and Kynlee while Katie and Joseph went to the Garth Brooks concert on 7/3 and since I like to do as much as I can, they went with me to Adley’s 2nd birthday party in Tyler. Plus I really enjoy having as much of the family unit as possible around me, even if it involves a little sacrifice on my part. I really felt guilty about not having Jaiden and Dylan with me, but I knew that I had already bitten off more than I could chew taking 2 toddlers off with me for a 3-hour drive.

I purposely waited to drive until it was naptime so my little angels would be fresh (and me too) upon our arrival. Wyatt kept saying to Kynlee, that we would be seeing Hunter, Hailey and Adley. Of course, it didn’t quite come out like that but that is what he meant. I love the innocence of a child! I continue to learn from them! They did sleep most of the way there and I only had to sing about the last 30-40 minutes of our trip going.

sleeping on the way

sleeping on the way

look at Kynlee, all covered up

look at Kynlee, all covered up

my grand kiddos

my grand kiddos

We got in some great playtime! I have to share this one little time with Wyatt; he is going to be 3 on August 7th and is in the process of being potty trained. He really wanted to wear his “panties” but for safety reasons we used the pull-ups. I took him to the potty and I asked him if he was “wet or dry”. Wyatt says, “Dry!” I told him that was so good and he used the potty. Then I told him that it was Mimi’s turn. Wyatt says, “MiMi’s turn?” I said “yes” and then he asks me “wet or dry?” He was so cute, we laughed – it was almost like he knew it was a joke! I boldly said, “Dry!”

Kynlee

Kynlee

Hailey

Hailey

Adley

Adley

Kynlee was enjoying her play time

Kynlee was enjoying her play time

With Bennie and Laura’s help I checked into a hotel Friday night, that was an ordeal, but we worked through that. Saturday morning we got up and got ready, got to breakfast and I was really thinking I had this mastered for the most part. My 2 kiddos and myself looked awesome in that breakfast area, plus they behaved very well. I felt very proud! Ha! However, I didn’t eat but I did a drive through once we got in the car. I got us checked out and all packed up and to the birthday party. It was an accomplishment!

in the big bed at the hotel

in the big bed at the hotel

Adley was as cute as could be! She was proudly wearing her birthday dress that my sister, Pattie made for her, and Pattie even made shirts for Adley’s cousins that were there at the party (Hunter, Hailey, Wyatt and Kylee). Adley is currently “in-love” with Mitsy Mouse (aka Mickey), so all the shirts were Disney themed. Pattie did a great job on it all. I was very proud of her! We had a great time with her at her party and a lot of prime family time.

I made Adley a pillow case

I made Adley a pillow case

with the birthday girl

with the birthday girl

it was funny, Adley was leading Dad around everywhere.  she should be in charge of his exercise!  :-)

it was funny, Adley was leading Dad around everywhere. she should be in charge of his exercise! 🙂

I had to run to get this photo, she was one excited little girl

I had to run to get this photo, she was one excited little girl

5 of my grands

5 of my grands

Wyatt enjoying his cupcake

Wyatt enjoying his cupcake

Adley opening her gifts

Adley opening her gifts

loved her expression

loved her expression

I love that she really enjoyed Mom's birthday card that Mom made

I love that she really enjoyed Mom’s birthday card that Mom made

After the party, we went to Pattie’s to enjoy some time with my niece, Joanna who is home from Thailand until August. The kids got to swim and needless to say what kid doesn’t like swimming! I loved it too, as it wore them out. We left there about 2:45 and I drove home. Wyatt slept the entire way home!

pool time

Landen and Wyatt pool time

Kynlee loving the water

Kynlee loving the water

Wyatt jumping off the diving board

Wyatt jumping off the diving board

Kynlee going off the slide

Kynlee going off the slide

Sunday is “stretch” day and I’ve personally declared it a 4th “extra” day! On the way home from Wimberley the other day, I stopped in Kyle, Texas at the Texas Pie Company and got lunch and an apple pie! We celebrated by eating pie! Of course, David wants ice cream, but I’ve sworn to myself to only buy Blue Bell, I refuse to buy the “knock offs”. Ha!

apple pie and cool whip

apple pie and cool whip

The other day while shopping at Valli & Kim’s they had the cutest “dress pattern” quilt made up hanging over one of the beams. I showed it in one the pictures but I didn’t really draw much attention to it. Before I go any further, my name is Ronda, and I have a material obsession! Ha! I know, that I am NOT alone! Tee hee! I tried to get as many as the exact fabrics I could, but I came late to the party and some of them had sold out. Carol and myself bought half-yard cuts and then split them to make fat quarters to save a little money. I love the Kaffe fabrics; they are just so bright and perky! I can’t wait to work this little jewel up. Maybe I can get my Scan N’Cut to work. The pattern is by Black Mountain Needleworks, or you can order it from Valli & Kim’s online shop. I also had to buy their cute little row-by-row plate.

This is the quilt I want to make!

IMG_0852

my plate and my pattern

my plate and my pattern

My yummy fabric from Valli & Kim’s!!!

fabric purchase

fabric purchase

I also want to share my pretty fabric from B&B Quilting. I do love the patriotic color way! So this is what I chose and I had to get their row-by-row plate too!

from B & B

from B & B

We also got to do an addition in the red room at the retreat house. I love this very comfy chair and it is perfect for the room.

our newest addition

our newest addition

Last but not least, I got to do some stitching Sunday! Wahoo – I got to work on my Primitive Gatherings, Sunflower Gatherings block. With each stitch I get a little closer to the finish, I only have the red flowers to stitch.

more stitches

more stitches

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Holidays, Outdoors, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dirty Out, Clean In

  1. Starla says:

    Lord have mercy girl! I get tired just reading your posts! Do you ever sleep? 🙂

Leave a Reply

