Quilt Hangers

I’ve been asked how did I hang my quilts in the retreat house. A few years back while attending Houston Festival I came across this one vendor that was selling a magnetic style quilt hangers. He uses command strips; one side adheres to the magnet section and then you get it lined up where you want it and stick it on the wall. I’ve hung several in our home and I really like them. They offer more flexibility than the wooden, more traditional types hangers. If you want to change out the quilt that you are hanging you aren’t pinned down to a certain size.

Quilt Hangers

Quilt Hangers

Another reason I really like them is that it allows your quilt to lie flat on the wall and they just hangs so nicely.

we used Quilt Hangers to hand this heavy jewel

we used Quilt Hangers to hand this heavy jewel

another use of them

another use of them

on the sleeping porch

on the sleeping porch

another use

another use

I have not been measuring my quilts before I go shopping for my metal strip. If your quilt is a small one and isn’t very heavy you can use the metal curtain rods. Since most of the ones we have been hanging at the retreat house are heavy I bought some metal flashing that is thicker and is a little sturdier than the curtain rods. You will need to double check that your metal strip or rod will stick to a magnet.

After we get the metal, David gets the metal to the length that we need. He uses screws and then we cover the screws with blue painters tape, just to protect the quilt and let the flat side of the metal to be against the wall.

one of our metal strips

one of our metal strips

Originally we only used the adhesive that comes with the packaging, but since the temperature fluctuates from the house not being used, we decided to securely screw the magnet to the wall, the screw being below the magnet. You may need to see what works best for you in your home.

The instructions on the “Quilt Hangers” will suggest how many of the magnets to use per quilt and there are 5 magnets to each package, so you have several options. I have some for sale at the retreat house and they retail for $55 per package.

Here are a couple more that are hung using the quilt hangers. Good luck on hanging your quilts.

this is one I hung at home

this is one I hung at home

another one hung at home

another one hung at home

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quilt Hangers

  1. Peggy L says:

    I need a retreat house visit… over a crafty weekend. I love how you say We did this and We did that… ha!

Leave a Reply

