Harvested

Monday night the Houston area was pounded by rain, I hope you all faired it well and stayed high and dry, we did and I’m very thankful for that. It sure looked like a lot of people didn’t. With all the area flooding I decided to stay home and not venture out in the traffic, so I stayed home and sewed! I guess you aren’t surprised! Ha!

I’ve been working on Cynthia Regone’s pattern, Happy Harvest and I had hoped that I would finish it over the weekend but I got sidetracked on working on another project and therefore I didn’t finish it.

Since spring market was a few weeks ago all of the pattern/fabric designers have out their new wares and oh how tempting! Good grief, so many great projects and it is so distracting. Focus, Focus!

Tuesday I was pretty productive, it always takes longer than I think! I worked on my borders and got them all sewed on!

my 2 inner borders

my 2 inner borders

my outer border done

my outer border done

Next I cut out all of my leaves and acorn sets and then it was time to cut out the bias strips for the tree. I always dread cutting bias strips, but it has to be done, so to get busy. I always think I’m going to mess up and then I will be wasteful, well I am NOT going to run out of fabric!

all my leaves and acorns are cut

all my leaves and acorns are cut

I used the Clover purple bias maker and I had to re-figure how wide to cut the strips – I cut them ¾ inch wide.

my bias stems

my bias stems

I got the top all pinned down, I got that all machine appliqued down. Hallelujah!

top is pinned down

top is pinned down

top is now sewn!

top is now sewn!

Wednesday I got one corner pinned down and the stems sewn on, but the leaves I decided to wait until later. I had some errands to run to get a few things for the retreat house. I think it is strange that one errand turns into 4 stops because one store doesn’t have what I want. Ugh!

Thursday after work, the Happy Harvest was calling me. I worked on the bottom right corner and I kept having trouble with the thread and I was fighting all the fabric and then all of a sudden I decided to machine applique only one side down on all 4 sides and then work around and do the other side of the 4 leaves. Oh my word, those changes were a lot more efficient and no more thread breaks nor fighting with the quilt.

Perseverance is the name of this game! I am Harvested and elated that this one is done!

the bottom is all sewn too

the bottom is all sewn too

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Outdoors, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Harvested

  1. globrister says:

    It’s such a pretty quilt. Great job!!

Leave a Reply

