Left the Sink

I got my lovies done for the retreat right before it was time to leave – I had to burn the midnight oil, hopefully next time I won’t wait until the very last minute.

my thread bowls I made for lovies

my thread bowls I made for lovies

Wednesday morning I packed up headed out for Woodbine Hotel in Madisonville. As usual, we were welcomed with open arms and we were all happy to be there.

my station while there

my station while there

our set up

our set up

my grand room

my grand room

another part of my room

another part of my room

I want to say how much I appreciate all of these ladies. They are all remarkable women with many talents and each and every one of them plays a very important role in this retreat. This year was our 5th year to go there and retreat, we have several “charter” members and 2 of them were new to our group this year. Sandy could not be with us this year, but she was well enough to come up to spend some time with us on Friday. It was wonderful to have her there; we miss her being with us so much. She played such a big part in my first couple of years to sew, a great teacher and role model. Thank you, Julee for driving her over especially in all the bad weather. Karen somehow got her calendar mixed up and wasn’t able to join us. We all missed her terribly, she adds so much knowledge and has a very special talent. The time that we got to share with one another is one of my most precious gifts. Thank you for spending your time with me this weekend. I love you all!

our group

our group

Julee, Sandy and Linda

Julee, Sandy and Linda

On a more fun note – our “lovies”. We had a grand time with them again this year. It is our “sewing” Christmas time! These are our goodies!

our lovies!

our lovies!

I got all my stuff moved in and ready to get busy! First on the agenda was to make my 18 blocks for my Glad Creations, Faceted Jewels pattern. I thought if I did bits and pieces of different projects that I might get more done.

After Linda and Cheryl got set up, I realized that I had better work on my 30’s mini braid quilt, especially since I was going to borrow Linda’s template. I used the Marti Michell “G”; it is a half-hexie template.

the template/ruler

the template/ruler

I got out my bag of scraps and I started cutting my pieces. Linda sent me a link that gave me an idea of what I needed to do. After I got the pieces cut, I got busy putting them together. I decided to put 30 blocks in 4 columns. Cheryl and Linda made 3 rows in their quilt, so if you want to make this, it is completely up to you how many or how big you want your little quilt to be. I got busy on it just in case I needed to ask them any questions. Getting started was a little tricky, but it went pretty quick. I got my 4 columns made and then it was fabric-interviewing time. I knew I wanted to use my blue “oyster cracker” fabric for the border and decided to use this light yellow check for the inner border. I am very excited how it turned out.

my 30's braid blocks

my 30’s braid blocks

playing with the fabrics

playing with the fabrics

finished 30's braid

finished 30’s braid

Thursday morning I went back to constructing my 18 blocks, I got those pieced. Wahoo, only one problem I was a couple of flying geese short so I will need to make those and then finish the last block.

Faceted Jewels

Faceted Jewels

Next up, I wanted to do my alternating block for my Arkansas Crossroads quilt. Yes, I’m making another one of these quilts. It is a great quilt and I love the results, plus I need another 30’s quilt at the retreat house. I got all of my 2-inch squares sewed on my blocks.

my Arkansas Crossroads alternating blocks

my Arkansas Crossroads alternating blocks

Next on the list was my Americana 9-patch from Bits and Pieces book. I had already cut out my project at home, so I was able to get busy. It went together pretty easily, it was a 3-½ inch, 9-patch block and a snowball block and just a play on colors. I loved how it worked out. I will say that getting the snowball blocks to match up to the 9-patch block can be a little tricky, but worth the extra work. I love it too!

Americana 9 patch

Americana 9 patch

see the color play

see the color play

my Americana 9 patch

my Americana 9 patch

Speaking of snow, I wanted to share Linda’s cute little snowman quilt. I have a soft spot for snowmen, they melt my heart. ha!

this was Linda's cute snowman quilt

this was Linda’s cute snowman quilt

My next project was my Laundry Basket, Little Butterflies miniature quilt. It went together extremely well, I only had to machine applique the butterflies down and then I ended up embroidering the antenna down instead of using a pen as the pattern suggested. After I did the embroidery I put the rows/quilt together. Three for three, love it three! 😉

Little Butterflies

Little Butterflies

Last up was my “Tea with Ama and Me”, another 9-patch project. This time it was a little smaller, they were 2 ¾ inch blocks and I made 160 of them. My goal was to finish all the 9-patches before I left today. I did it! Now I get to assemble the blocks.

all of my 9 patches for Tea with Ama and Me

all of my 9 patches for Tea with Ama and Me

It was a wonderful weekend, I got home about 4:15 got unpacked and was able to see the Rockets win. How exciting!

To say that I’m truly blessed doesn’t really hit the mark, but sometimes words just aren’t enough. I’m blessed more than I deserve. I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

