Warming Up!

It has seemed a little steamy around here lately! I’m gearing up to go on my big retreat next Wednesday, so I’m cutting and prepping all my little projects that I want to accomplish while I’m in Madisonville at the Woodbine Hotel. Susan at Woodbine sure knows how to spoil us and she pampers us a lot more than she should, but the 14 of us just love it. If you want to get away and be spoiled go to Woodbine Hotel, they give us restaurant styled menus and we get to order off the menu 3 times a day.

I got my 18 centers stitched up the other night so I can work on my faceted jewels. Next up will be my flip and sew on my 3.5-inch squares for my Arkansas Crossroads.

I also got another block ready to stitch of my Primitive Gatherings, Sunflower Gatherings block. I love the birds and the nest. I have jury duty on Monday, I will be stitching!

my next Sunflower Gathering block

my next Sunflower Gathering block

Today I finished up cutting a small project that I saw on Pinterest. It is out of a book called “Bits and Pieces” by Karen Costello Soltys and finishes up at 21 ½ x 21 ½-inches. Linda H had the book, she saw that I had pinned it and offered to let me borrow it. I took her up on the offer and now I just have to sew it up.

mini quilt

mini quilt

Bits and Pieces book

Bits and Pieces book

mini quilt all ready for needle and thread

mini quilt all ready for needle and thread

Next up I got this cute little kit from Laundry Basket quilts called Little Butterflies and it has everything in it except the sewing machine. Ha! Easy cut and put together, the hardest thing is trying to match up what I want to go with what and then pulling off the fusible papers from the back. They are pre-cut and the fusible is already applied! Sweet! So I got those worked up.

Little Butterflies

Little Butterflies

only 12 little blocks

only 12 little blocks

pulling off the papers, love that it is already done

pulling off the papers, love that it is already done

this is prepped and ready for machine appliqué

this is prepped and ready for machine appliqué

I pulled some of my 30’s strips for a miniature braid quilt, they are all set aside. Cheryl C made one for the Baytown guild auction so I’m going to make one for the retreat house. More on this little cutie later!

for my mini 30's braid quilt

for my mini 30’s braid quilt

Next prep work is this kit I bought back at Houston Festival in 2012 and I got some of it cut, but then I stopped – I’m not too sure why I stopped, I think I ran out of time before heading for a retreat and I just never got back to it. It is back on the cutting block, I got the rest of the strips cut for the 9-patches and it is ready to sew too! It finishes at 45×45.

another small quilt ready to sew up

another small quilt ready to sew up

IMG_0150
I’d rather be prepared than not and if I don’t get to it, it will definitely be there for the next outing! 😉

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Pinterest finds, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Warming Up!

  1. Connie Schofield says:

    Great projects!

Leave a Reply

