Music Man

How is your week coming along? Mine has been pretty good and most of the time, better than I think I deserve! Ha! A couple of weeks ago I was invited to attend the Elton John concert at the Woodlands Pavilion. David’s brother, Ricky and sister, Milly were going to be coming down to spend the weekend with us but I thought they would understand that an opportunity like this does not come along very often, so I accepted the invitation!

Friday came and I was able to welcome Ricky and Milly here but I left shortly afterward their arrival to meet my former co-worker, Sue B. Sue’s honey had bought these tickets and even sprung for an overnight stay at the Marriott just minutes and a short walk away from the pavilion! He had to go to India, so I was asked to take his place. I was one LUCKY girl! I had never had it so GRAND! I felt like I was among the rich and famous.

our view from the hotel room

our view from the hotel room

to the right view

to the right view

As we were walking to our seats, I had to keep showing the aisle attendants my ticket and then one of the girls said with a giant grin…”you enjoy the concert!” I was so excited; we just kept walking closer and closer to the front. We were in the “pit” area and sat on the 4th row. There were only 6 rows! The tickets were unbelievably wonderful. I just might be spoiled for the rest of my life; I want to sit down there for all of my NEXT concerts. Ha!

our view before everyone showed up

our view before everyone showed up

myself and Sue

myself and Sue

I felt like I was back in my high school days! Sue and I beamed from ear to ear during the entire concert! Casey, I’m sorry you had to go to India, but I’m sure glad I got to take your place. We had a FABOULOUS TIME! Thank you, Sue and Casey! I’m not sure how I could ever re-pay you for an evening like that, but a dinner date is definitely in order.

I love how music evokes all the wonderful memories of the past and present. I know they aren’t all good, but no matter how bad things get, music can sure sooth the soul.

Sir Elton John, not the best picture but i got one!

Sir Elton John, not the best picture but I got one!

Saturday, my carriage turned back into a pumpkin – I drove home still reeling from the entire experience. After I got home, we took Ricky and Milly over to let them see the retreat house. They both really liked it. We had to drive over for some Tex-Mex and then drove to the Astro’s game downtown. The game was great and we had good seats there too. We won big time, there were 9 homeruns hit during the game. To bad you can’t save homeruns for times when you need one or two. Ha!

our full moon at the baseball game, a very nice touch!

our full moon at the baseball game, a very nice touch!

Monday night was the Baytown guild auction, that went well and it was great to see a lot of the people I had not seen in a while.

Tuesday night after work I got to work on my Painted Pony clubhouse block. I got that finished.

my month #3 clubhouse block

my month #3 clubhouse block

Today is a special “home sew day”. I’m working on my Primitive Gatherings, Sunflower Gatherings blocks. Maybe I should say that is what I’m working on right now. I kind of feel like I’m working on this and that!

getting ready to finish up the other backgrounds

getting ready to finish up the other backgrounds

getting ready to work on my 4-patches

getting ready to work on my 4-patches

I started working on my block this week and then last night while I was stitching on it, I decided that I would get the rest of my backgrounds pieced and ready to go. It is funny how all the cobwebs come out of my head.

this is the block that I'm working on

this is the block that I’m working on

Last week, David finally decided that he would update from his old flip phone to a new IPhone 6. I have been learning/teaching him all the newest technology and some of it I’m still learning, but I teach him as we go. While we were at the Verizon store they showed me this Bluetooth round wireless sound system. Oh my goodness, he sounded so good, but I told them no – maybe later. Well – later came about an hour later. They got the last laugh on me, but I’m sure enjoying the speaker! It has an amazing sound! I’ve had it on Pandora all day while I’ve been sewing! Y’all meet my new best friend! She is called Ultimate Ears boom.

my new Ultimate Ears boom

my new Ultimate Ears boom

Are you more motivated with the TV on, or does music move you more??? I have to say, hands down…Music!!! I do enjoy having the TV on, but I have to admit there seems to be so much unrest out there, this way is sure more pleasant!

I’m down to the final 5 blocks and then there’s the border to assemble! Wahoo – backgrounds in progress! First I had to make the remaining 4-patches, then attach them to the 6 inch centers.

all of my 4-patches are done now and ready for the center and sashes

all of my 4-patches are done now and ready for the center and sashes

Background assembly line is done!

all of my backgrounds are finished

all of my backgrounds are finished

I am so truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Outdoors, Quilts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Music Man

  1. How lucky you were to be able to go to the concert – and what amazing seats! I’ve been working on my Summer block of the week too – and am stitching on that same block! One more to go, and mine will be ready to sew together.

  2. ronda926 says:

    it was truly a pinch me moment! that is wonderful, I’m trying very hard not to get too anxious, but it does help me finish things. good for you – that’s very exciting. happy stitching! thanks for writing!

  3. How fun for you! I love to go to concerts and you do get spoiled once you have been near the front – you my friend were IN THE FRONT! How fun! And then to just walk back to your palace after! Love your blocks too!

Leave a Reply

