Sew Much More!

After I posted about my mom sewing for us I had a few more thoughts that I wanted to share. You know, I loved that our Mom sewed for us, I loved that our clothes seemed better made than any of the others. After all, I was different than most of my class just because of my red hair. Mom would stay up late and sew after dinner and during the Christmas holidays she would close her door and we knew, it was good – we just hoped it was for us. My mom never really seemed partial to any of us; we 3 girls seemed to split those hairs pretty often. We loved getting our new dresses. As mother’s day approaches I just want to say how much I wished I had truly appreciated mom’s sacrifice for us back then. You know I don’t think I ever would want to “grow up” again, but I do wish I appreciated her more.

Friday morning I picked up Mom and we drove to Dallas for a “Mom/Sister” weekend. We had a great time, Mom and Penny scrapbooked and Pattie and I sewed. It was wonderful. Pattie got a new embroidery machine for her birthday in March and she has been working up a storm. She is really enjoying her machines; she learned fast that you need one to sew and one to embroidery! ☺

our chef for the weekend

our chef for the weekend

we even had Mickey for breakfast

we even had Mickey for breakfast

I had talked to my son, Kyle to see if they might have time to drive to the Dallas area on Saturday. He said they would try, especially since we haven’t seen one another since Christmas. Well – it worked out and they came for a visit and then we all went to dinner. We had a great time! Adley sure has grown and talking more, we had fun playing.

Mom was showing Adley pages she was working on

Mom was showing Adley pages she was working on

they were pages of Adley

they were pages of Adley

Ms Hollywood!

Ms Hollywood!

she likes the chips and salsa

she likes the chips and salsa

Sunday morning, my sister Penny had planned a photo shoot for the 4 of us and then we were going to brunch at Breadwinners at Northpark Mall on their patio. We had a great time during the photo shoot and the brunch was even better.

sisters!  Pattie, Penny and myself

sisters! Pattie, Penny and myself

Mom and I

Mom and I

I really liked this one, with Mom's hand on my leg.

I really liked this one, with Mom’s hand on my leg.

the entire time we were taking pictures this duck was right beside us.  I'm so glad it didn't fly at us.  we would have all passed out!

the entire time we were taking pictures this duck was right beside us. I’m so glad it didn’t fly at us. we would have all passed out!

it was a 4 beverage morning!

it was a 4 beverage morning!

breakfast on the patio

breakfast on the patio

this was my very tasty breakfast

this was my very tasty breakfast

this was half a portion that Penny and Mom shared.  it was yummy

this was half a portion that Penny and Mom shared. it was yummy

After that we went back to her house and did a few things and then it was time to pack up and head home. My next project to finish was my “Happy Harvest” by Cynthia Regone. I was busy putting all of my churn dash together and to work on my center. I worked on my rows for Happy Harvest – they are done. Today I worked on the letters with my Brother Scan n Cut. Some of them went well and some didn’t.

laying out my churn dash for my Happy Harvest

laying out my churn dash for my Happy Harvest

borders added to my center

borders added to my center

churn dash added to the center

churn dash added to the center

my rows of churn dash

my rows of churn dash

Since I was kind of at a stand still on my Happy Harvest I worked on assembling my rows for my Circus Tents. I got my rows together and then worked on getting all the rows put together. Success!

my rows of circus tents done

my rows of circus tents done

my circus tents all ready for the borders

my circus tents all ready for the borders

I teased them that I took 10 projects, I’m not sure I did but I decided to work on my block assembly for my civil war “Faceted Jewels” by Glad Creations. I did get my 17 blocks put together and then I started working on the secondary blocks.

my 17 blocks for faceted jewels

my 17 blocks for faceted jewels


Sew many quilts to make, sew little time!

I am very blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Outdoors, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

