Quilt Loading

How is your week coming along? I hope it is going well, mine has been a little on the bumpy side, I’ve been struggling with my patience the past couple of days, but some good things too!

After work on Tuesday; Mom, David and I went over to Cathy’s so she could quilt Mom’s table topper. Mom was very excited and she really didn’t know what to expect.

When I was younger, my mom took in sewing to make extra money – she didn’t work outside the home until my brother started school. She was an excellent seamstress and made almost all of our clothes. I remember only once in a while did we have a “store bought dress” or clothes for that matter. It was just what we knew and how we grew up. Mom even made dance costumes, she was always so fast about what she made. When I tried sewing, it took me forever, so I was very discouraged and didn’t enjoy making garments of any kind, especially ones with zippers.

One of the memories that I often recall is going in to talk to Mom and all the fabric being in her lap, pins everywhere in the fabric and her having to tussle with her garment, so when I’m tugging on my fabric and pinning up a storm I always think of her. Do you ever do things like that? Regardless, it is a very nice memory. 😉

Tuesday night, Cathy remembered that Mom sewed some of her costumes for drill team – I had forgotten about that. Cathy reminded mom about it and we 3 got a chuckle. Cathy said, “when you were sewing for me, did you ever once think that one day that I’d be doing some quilting for you?” Isn’t it funny how things turn out, I know that I never thought I’d be quilting.

Cathy showed us how she loads the backing and then lays the batting on top all the time tweaking the longarm machine, making sure the fabric is tight.

the backing loaded

the backing loaded

Then she placed the table topper on top of the batting.

she's off and quilting

she’s off and quilting

I think the hardest part for me is once the set up is done what in the world do you do! I think I would just spend a lot of time starring at it, waiting for a “knock on the head”! Cathy already had a vision and she was off and running with it.

there she goes

there she goes

borders

borders

center and other side

center and other side

all done, she made it seem easy

all done, she made it seem easy

It was fun to watch Mom, she was fascinated how it was all done and it was very interesting to see the process beginning to end – I think this was a first time for me too.

binding on

binding on

a closer view of the quilting

a closer view of the quilting

After Cathy had it finished, mom just looked at it in amazement, like she couldn’t believe it. Afterwards she said “she thought we would just be dropping it off, she never once thought she would have it all quilted.” Thank you, Cathy for going to so much trouble and for doing a wonderful job!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quilt Loading

  1. Karen roberson says:

    I Have wonderful memories of fabric shopping with my mother who sewed all of my clothes. So enjoyed reading your post…savor those days with your parents.

  2. cathycarnew says:

    It was a great pleasure to do this for your sweet mom! I’m glad she liked it.

Leave a Reply

