Special Delivery

I hope you had a happy Saturday! It was another full day and pretty productive! I picked my friend, Linda H and she and I headed to see our friend, Sandy. She lived in Deer Park until last year and then moved to her new home in Onalaska, about 1.5 hour north of us. She has really struggled with health issues for quite a while but has been such a fighter. I truly admire her strength and courage as she has faced many battles and is now on a list to be a recipient of a liver and kidneys.

Every May for the past several years a group of 14 ladies have been going to a quilt retreat in Madisonville at the Woodbine Hotel. Since Sandy has been a part of this group I got the idea for us to do a signature block quilt and give it to her since she still has a rough road ahead of her. I thought she needed a quilt to take with her on her journey and hopefully it would be cheerful and it would encourage her to speedy recovery. I know it would bring a smile on her face and it would serve as a reminder to know that she was loved.

We got busy and we had a couple of ladies that wanted to do a block too so I said sure. Linda H. actually did 2; she also did the block with the year. I got all the blocks and then got them assembled and then to the quilter. I asked Cathy if she would do the honors and I was so proud that she said yes. Cathy has only been quilting for about 15 months and did an amazing job! I proudly made a label and put the binding on.

her label

her label

Album blocks for Sandy

Album blocks for Sandy

a view of the quilting

a view of the quilting

Today was “ quilt delivery day”! Sandy had no idea that we had a surprise for her! We were talking quilts – she has a miniature churn dash and table runner that Linda and I were interested in making.

her little churn dash quilt

her little churn dash quilt

this is the table runner that Sandy made.  it would look good in just about anything

this is the table runner that Sandy made. it would look good in just about anything

they even fixed us a special Easter lunch

they even fixed us a special Easter lunch

I told her that I had a “show and tell” and she was excited. I showed her the label first and then the 3 of us started crying. Sandy loved the quilt and was proud to know that we had done this for her.

Sandy and her new quilt

Sandy and her new quilt

Linda, Sandy and myself

Linda, Sandy and myself

the quilt finished

the quilt finished

a closer view

a closer view

another view

another view

another view

another view

I love what quilting has done for me and has provided me the opportunity to meet so many wonderful women – Sandy is one of these women. She is a wonderful teacher, quilter, wife, mother, sister and friend. We love you, Sandy and I speak for us all, and it was an honor to do this for you!

Today David followed Shawn at the Shell Houston Open and he is one tired puppy once he got home. Shawn had a great day and the final round is tomorrow. Good luck, Shawn!

After I got home I got all of my rows sewn together, now I just need to get all the rows attached together. I only have 5 more to attach! Wahoo!

almost finished with the churn dash top

almost finished with the churn dash top

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Quilts, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Special Delivery

  1. Karen roberson says:

    I’m So glad you delivered the quilt to Sandy…it looks beautiful! She remains in lots of prayer….

Leave a Reply

