Rows Churning

Thursday was a regular workday for me and it was a productive one. I like to set small goals so I can “chip away” on what I want to accomplish. Do you do things like that? I told myself that I wanted to sew at least 2 rows of my churn dash top and luckily I was able to do 3. Wahoo!

Thursday progress

Thursday progress

Friday, David had asked me to go with him to the Shell Houston Open so we could follow/watch Shawn Stephani play in the tournament. It was a tough option to give up my sewing time, but I did. David and I along with two friends; Ed and Jim drove to our friend’s, Tammie and Mike’s house. They just happen to live on the member’s side of the Golf Club of Houston. We parked at their house and then walked the course. It was fun and exciting to be able to see the golf stars. It was overcast all day and luckily the 10% rain forecast stayed away! Since he teed off at 7:10 he finished up before noon. Rickie Fowler, Matt Kuchar and Sergio Garcia were 2 groups behind him, so we just hung out on the last hole to see them finish too.

After that we walked back to their house and then we left to grab a bite for lunch. I was pretty zapped after it was all said and done. It was a LOT of walking!

After resting it was “row time”. I will say that making a mistake on the first row, I’m checking and double-checking my work to make sure all of my half-squares are going the right direction.

row progress today, the top 8 are sewn together

row progress today, the top 8 are sewn together

David drove over to the retreat house and did the yard and I got to take a few pictures of our new tree – it has a lot of leaves, now I just need to get the pecan tree on board. Ha!

our oak tree

our oak tree

look at all the leaves

look at all the leaves

The back porch is drying out nicely, now I need to find a couple of chairs for the porch. Too bad it wasn’t done like this originally. Oh well!

a better view of the back step from the house

a better view of the back step from the house

better view of the front porch of the craft room

better view of the front porch of the craft room

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rows Churning

  1. Kyle says:

    I’ve enjoyed reading your posts. I’m a quilter like you, small bits each day add up to big accomplishments. Your churn dash is delightful with all of the fabrics you’ve used. Glad everything is rowing in the right direction now.

  2. Sharon Ernst says:

    Geez! I just want to hang out with you!! LOVE how your beautiful quilt is coming together!! And your retreat house is so beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

