What’s New?

I had hoped that I would have time to write Tuesday night, but that didn’t happen and now it is Saturday night, turning into Sunday. Things have been pretty busy here, but it has been filled with family and quilting!

Last Sunday afternoon Brok, Candice, Hunter and Hailey arrived here for their week of spring break. We had a great visit and got to do a lot while they were here even if it was for a few days. David grilled salmon for dinner Sunday night. He sure did a great job and we had a great time. Mom and Dad even came over after church to visit and eat. ☺

Monday we decided to do an area adventure so we went to the Battleship Texas and toured the battleship. It was a fabulous day here after all the rain we had on Saturday, the skies were a perfect blue and not a cloud to be seen.

Battleship Texas

Battleship Texas

The Battleship is very interesting; it was commissioned 1914 and is the only surviving U.S. naval ship that served in both World Wars. She was scheduled to be a bombing target in the late 40’s but the citizens of Texas launched a successful campaign to buy her and save her. She has a lot of interesting facts and displays on board and she is worth the visit!

Battleship and Monument

Battleship and Monument

getting some fake action

getting some fake action

I'm getting some love

I’m getting some love

they were showing their "guns"

they were showing their “guns”

family photo

family photo

more photo time

more photo time

After the battleship the kids were getting hungry so we decided to go to Monument Inn and we also got to enjoy the ship channel traffic, it was very active – therefore fun for us to watch.

after lunch we walked over to the beach.  they wanted to chase away the birds, so they did

after lunch we walked over to the beach. they wanted to chase away the birds, so they did

more birds

more birds

princess Hailey

princess Hailey

Master Hunter

Master Hunter

After lunch we went to the San Jacinto Monument, which is the tallest war memorial in the United States. Here is an interesting bit of trivia – the star weighs over 220 tons. We even went to the top and that is the first time I’ve done that in a long, long time! Another worthwhile trip!

our beautiful monument

our beautiful monument

from the top

from the top

Hunter getting in some jumps

Hunter getting in some jumps

After all the excitement, Hunter said he needed to go home and relax! That was funny, so we went home and then “the girls” went to get a pedicure! This was Hailey’s first time and she was quite the princess! She loved it; of course Candice and I did too!

Hailey's first pedicure

Hailey’s first pedicure

Wednesday morning I packed up and headed to Galveston to help set up and attend the Lakeview guild retreat at the Victorian Inn. We had 101 women there and it was truly an amazing time. I am so very blessed to be among so many talented ladies. Sue and Nancy do a great job coordinating this event. They take great strides in making sure everyone gets to go that signs up and then Sue does all the logistics of where we all get to sit. Quite an undertaking, but it was a huge success. I have marked my calendar for next year’s event. I will be back! 😉

I worked on saw tooth stars the entire weekend. I had pre-cut all of my segments and had them bagged accordingly, and had planned to get them done – after all I only had 100 to do, but apparently one has to be in their seat to be able to accomplish this feat! We went out to eat for almost every meal, which turned out to be a time suck, but the upswing was we went to some great places to eat. We went to “The Farley Girls”, “Olympia”, “Sunflower Bakery”, “The Spot” and to “The Original” (Mexican food) restaurants. They were all wonderful!

90 saw tooth star and it doesn't look like much

90 saw tooth star and it doesn’t look like much

A couple of shout outs – one to Sharon M for sharing her adorable baskets. The small ones finish at 2-1/2 inches (I think) and the big ones were cute too, I forgot what they were. Darn it, I’m a sucker for baskets – now I have something else on my bucket lists of things to make!

Sharon's baby baskets

Sharon’s baby baskets

The other shout out goes to Marsha F. for her finishing Sue Garman’s “Afternoon Delight”. This quilt was just unbelievable! Marsha used 30’s fabric and I think she said 40 applique blocks and the other ones are pieced. Each block seem to tell a story and you could truly sit for hours gazing at this quilt. One of the unique things about this is she used the backside of the fabric, but the back was simply perfect, just a subtle hint of color. All of Marsha’s fussy cutting and attention to detail is to be commended. Marsha – a job very well done, we were all in amazement.

Marsha's Afternoon Delight

Marsha’s Afternoon Delight

Marsha's Afternoon Delight

Marsha’s Afternoon Delight

Marsha's Afternoon Delight

Marsha’s Afternoon Delight

Marsha's Afternoon Delight

Marsha’s Afternoon Delight

Marsha's Afternoon Delight

Marsha’s Afternoon Delight

Marsha's Afternoon Delight

Marsha’s Afternoon Delight

Marsha's Afternoon Delight, this is the back (darker yellow)

Marsha’s Afternoon Delight, this is the back (darker yellow)

Marsha's Afternoon Delight

Marsha’s Afternoon Delight

Marsha's Afternoon Delight

Marsha’s Afternoon Delight

There were so many projects being done by others that were truly wonderful, but some how I didn’t get any other pictures. I know others did, I’m sorry; I will do better next time!

Oh, one last thing – look at my new little cutie pie! She is redheaded just like me! I have a new traveling companion! One of the girls (Grace’s sister, I’m sorry I didn’t get her name) made them and sold them!

my new little girl

my new little girl

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Outdoors, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s New?

  1. Marsha Fuller says:

    Thanks, Rhonda, for the pictures of my quilt. Accolades are always welcome!!
    Marsha

Leave a Reply

