Getting to Stitch

Between a little work, rodeo and family I got some time to sew. I heard a story the other day that everyone should do something they really love for at least 10 minutes a day. I think that is true, at least it sure helps me to have a happier disposition!

Friday I spent the better part of the day trying to pull fabrics for another Arkansas Crossroads swap. I know I have done this one before, but it really a fun and easy swap and I just love the pattern. We are doing in 30’s fabrics again, so it will be a bright and cheerful quilt. As I was pulling the fabric I was also envisioning the borders. What should I do?

I saw this cute background and I thought it would be perfect for it and I had decided that I wanted to do a black outer border. I was on the hunt for a little Scottie dog border and then I opened my cabinet and I saw this cute, cute black background with Jack and Jill – that I already had! When I come across really cute fabric, I just HAVE to get more of it than I normally get. Winner, winner – chicken dinner! It was perfect and I knew immediately that I wanted a yellow polka dot fabric for the inner border! I just love it when a plan comes together!

a closer view of the background

a closer view of the background

background, inner and outer border

background, inner and outer border

I ended up watching Wyatt and Kynlee Friday night and Saturday and David did has labor of love setting up the Seabrook trails for the half and full marathon on Saturday and Sunday. It is a lot of work for him, but lucky for him he has a great helper, Vicki and they manage to get it done effectively and efficiently. One bad thing is he gets up at 2:00 or 2:30 a.m. to get out there and get it set up before the races each day. Needless to say, I was counting my ZZZzzz’s at least I tried to. I ended up getting up at 4 Sunday morning because I couldn’t go back to sleep and I really had a hard time Saturday too.

getting some playtime in

getting some playtime in

Since I was up so early I got to work on my little 3-1/2” 4-patches and cutting my 2-inch squares. I decided to do the entire swap at one time instead of doing it on a monthly basis. Done is GOOD!

my swap is done

my swap is done

bagged and tagged

bagged and tagged

Sunday afternoon I got to show a very special group of ladies the retreat house. They were the ladies that work at The Painted Pony. It was very nice of them to want to see the house and it was fun showing it off to them.

I needed to drive over to the retreat house this morning and then to the Pony to give them some postcards for the house. I couldn’t help but notice the red and white quilt hanging in the back room. What is it about red and white that just sucks me in? I’m not sure, but I ended up looking at it closer and decided that I needed to invest in it. It is their Clubhouse Sampler for the year and this is the first time that I’ve done one of these where you go and sign up for a block that cost $10 and then you go to the first Saturday of each month with your completed square and it ONLY costs you $1.00 for the next block. I already know I cannot make the next month’s meeting, so we will see how this all pans out. I promptly drove home and cut it out and stitched it up! Wahoo – done! One down 11 more blocks to go!

red and white

red and white

March block is done

March block is done

I have another work shift at the rodeo tonight so I will be missing the Lakeview guild meeting. So sad about this! ☹

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

