I’m Beaming!

Well I messed up and waited until the very last day to pick up my HLSR volunteer badge, so I headed to NRG Park on Monday. As I was planning my day I decided that I could also view the quilt display in the center. I packed my camera so I could take pictures.

I was informed back at the end of January that I had won a couple of ribbons. I just happen to be in Wimberley helping Denise (who happens to be my quilter of this quilt) with her Fire Island Hosta workshop when I found out. I jumped up and down and said to Denise, “WE Won!” I was SEW excited!

The time came for me to see it on display and this was really the first time I got to see it hanging. I do love this quilt! Lisa Bongean of Primitive Gathering Quilts is the designer and I have to say that she did an amazing job with it. There are over 640 half-square triangles in this quilt, they add so much to make that special finishing touch!

Needless to say I was beaming ear to ear!

my quilt

my quilt

my ribbons

my ribbons

I did take pictures of some of the other quilts on display. In case you don’t get out to the rodeo, I hope you enjoy the quilts!

Sue Garman's quilt

Sue Garman’s quilt

I don't recall who made this, but I do have a crush on Dear Jane quilts.  One is on my bucket list

I don’t recall who made this, but I do have a crush on Dear Jane quilts. One is on my bucket list

I love this one too

I love this one too

this one was made by Carolyn and Pete Hughes

this one was made by Carolyn and Pete Hughes

I liked this one, I can't remember who made it either

I liked this one, I can’t remember who made it either

I liked this one too, so I had to share

I liked this one too, so I had to share

this quilt sure caught my eye!  I love the red and white

this quilt sure caught my eye! I love the red and white

wanted to share this one too

wanted to share this one too

another share

another share

this one was made by Ann Barrios

this one was made by Ann Barrios

Ann, congrats – sorry the back lighting is bad, I wished I could have gotten a better picture.

I like this one too

I like this one too

Also here is the list of the area winners, some of them I don’t have all the actual names.

Best of Show –Hand, Mixed Media: Area Go Texan, Jefferson County
Best of Show – Machine, Applique: Houston Metro Go Texan, NASA/Clear Creek/Friendswood – Sue Garman
Judge’s Choice – Machine, Pieced: Houston Metro Go Texan, Conroe/Willis/The Woodlands
Judge’s Choice – Machine, Mixed Media: Houston Metro Go Texan, Baytown/Highlands – Ronda Stockton
Best of Division – Machine, Applique: Houston Metro Go Texan, NASA/Clear Creek/Friendswood
- Sue Garman
Best of Division – Hand, Applique: Area Go Texan, Lampasas County
Best of Division – Machine, Pieced: Houston Metro Go Texan, Humble/Kingwood
Best of Division – Hand, Pieced: Area Go Texan, Live Oak County
Best of Division – Machine, Mixed Media: Houston Metro Go Texan, Baytown/Highlands – Ronda Stockton
Best of Division – Hand, Mixed Media: Area Go Texan, Jefferson County
Best of Division – Machine, Wall Hanging: Houston Metro Go Texan, Waller County
Best of Division – Hand, Wall Hanging: Area Go Texan, Hill County
Best of Division – Machine, Pictorial: Houston Metro Go Texan, Galveston Mainland 
- Carolyn & Pete Hughes

Tuesday night I decided to venture out for opening night at the rodeo. It was a packed house, I got to meet up with my friend, Alicia and I also got to meet up with Katie, Joseph, Codi and John. We all had a great time.

Wednesday was Jaiden’s, my oldest grandson’s birthday – he turned TEN! It is sure hard to believe that he is ten already! I planned to meet Angela and Jaiden for lunch to celebrate at his school. It was fun and he was off to play! 😉 Nothing like lunch and playground time! I love you, Jaiden – we are very proud of you!

Jaiden's 1st birthday

Jaiden’s 1st birthday

Now 10!

Now 10!

MiMi and Jaiden

MiMi and Jaiden

That night was my first “work shift”. I had a good time but it made for a long day, 1 down, and 4 to go!

Today I got to meet my friend Peggy and her group over at the retreat house. They are having a scrapping good time and celebrating Cindy’s birthday! We ended up going to Mainly Drinks for dinner. Their name at the restaurant really doesn’t do this place justice – their food is fabulous! Peggy ended up treating us to dinner and it was greatly appreciated! Thank you again, sister!

Oh cousins, look what Peggy gave me! I love it! I can’t wait to hang him up at the retreat house. Thank you Peggy! I love you!

Mr Hoot!

Mr Hoot!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts, Rodeo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

