Lost and Found

Thursday night, I met Cathy for dinner at Sushi Coast. Oh it was so good and we did a quilt trade. I got one from her that she quilted and then I gave her another one to quilt. I think I got the better part of the deal. I got this quilt kit from a store in Nebraska and finished it in November of 2011 and it has been hanging in the “un-quilted” closet. The fabric is by French General and is really a Christmas quilt but I am hard-pressed to see that it is really Christmas fabric. It is machine appliqued along with the border. It is really different than anything I’ve made. Cathy sure did a great job on the quilting. I love it!

Christmas in Paris

Christmas in Paris

Christmas in Paris a closer view of the quilting

Christmas in Paris a closer view of the quilting

Christmas in Paris more quilting details

Christmas in Paris more quilting details

Friday, I had planned to go pick up my badge at the NRG stadium but for some reason I got distracted trying to find a miniature quilt that I made back in 2010. I wanted to use it at the retreat house. I looked everywhere and in some places I looked 3 times. I rarely lose things so it was driving me crazy. I am not exaggerating one bit that I looked for it the entire day! In fact I didn’t leave the house until I rode with David to pick up our dinner. I stayed up until midnight searching for it, looking one last time.

I have a process, once I finish piecing my projects I hang them up in a closet and it waits to be quilted. That closet has been emptied out quite a bit since I needed some much for the retreat house. For some reason I was thinking it was quilted but today I was searching through my mind, going through the thought process and I decided that it was not quilted. Since this was such a small piece I remember leaving it in “one” particular place, but it was not anywhere! I looked for the THIRD TIME in the un-quilted closet and I mean moving slowly and there it was, on one hanger along with 3 other small projects! Thank goodness! I felt like the widow and her mite! I thought I was going crazy and I just about drove me there! Ugh! What a huge waste of time and effort! Can you believe I searched the world over for this little thing? It is a Pam Buda pattern in her first series of “Prairie Woman Sewing Circle”. Regardless, I found it, now I can move on!

my mini quilt - found!

my mini quilt – found!

I asked David to make me a fabric carrousel, based on one that is at Joann’s, just taller. Linda took a couple of pictures for me when she was there last so I could show David what I was talking about. Thank you, Linda. He started working on it last weekend and yesterday he almost finished it up. All the shelves are in place, he just has to add the trim and the base, and best of all it is going to swivel! I can’t wait for it to be finished! He’s a keeper, no doubt!

my shelf in progress

my shelf in progress

another view in progress

another view in progress

shelf almost finished

shelf almost finished

shelf with fabric

shelf with fabric

I’m trying to finish up a few more things, adding binding and getting labels and sleeves ready. I met Denise today and I picked up another quilt and traded with her too. This is a feathered star that I pieced (not paper-pieced) back in 2012, and I did it in Kaffe fabrics. It is a little on the wild side, I love it too. Denise did a great job and she was glad that I made something small! 😉

my feathered star quilted

my feathered star quilted

another view of the Feathered Star quilting

another view of the Feathered Star quilting

more quilting on the Feathered star

more quilting on the Feathered star

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

