Carrousel Ride

David and I worked on the house trying to do some finishing touches on different things. He worked on the arbor, the sign back and I finished up my Texas quilt and we hung other quilts, my vintage doily dresses and did some last minute cleaning.

arbor work

arbor work

sign work

sign work

quilt finished

quilt finished

doily dresses hung

doily dresses hung

quilt hung

quilt hung

arbor ready

arbor ready

small quilt hung

small quilt hung

When was the last time you were on a carrousel ride? A couple of years ago David and I were in Chattanooga and we got to ride this wonderful ride and it was more wonderful than I could have ever imagined. As you know the ride goes up and down and has this magic music and I was able to escape to fantasyland.

This past week was very much like a wonderful carrousel ride. Tuesday evening after work, I drove over to the retreat house and got ready to receive 3 friends from Florida. I was so excited to see Gloria, Wynette and Donna!

Wednesday, Cynthia R joined us and then Thursday morning, we picked up Anjie, Denise, Lynn, Katie, Mary Ellen, Tami and Sara at the airport. We got to dine at Mainly Drinks, Gringo’s, Monument Inn and Cynthia cooked Gumbo and Chili for us. We ate, sewed, laughed, and slept. Paula joined us to sew for the day on Saturday. They all were the best days EVER!

We had several visitors stop by to view the house. We also went antique shopping and best of all they got to go fabric shopping at The Painted Pony (some even went more than once). Sara and Denise even told people in the store about the retreat house while they were fabric shopping and they even stopped by for a visit.

I was on a “high” during the day and “down” while I slept. I was also blessed by receiving a quilt from Wynette. She made one for the red and white room and it looks great except I forgot to take a picture of it! It got put immediately on the bed and I just neglected to get one. I will get one tomorrow! I also got the cutest hooked footstool from Gloria.

my new footstool

my new footstool

We had some great projects going on in the group. Katie and Paula worked on their “Lucy Boston” English paper piecing projects. Gloria, Tami, Sara, Lynn and Denise did wool appliqué and wool hooking. Anjie, Donna and Wynette worked on a saw tooth star swap. Cynthia and Mary Ellen working on piecing and I got to work on my Fire Island Hosta pattern.

Paula and Katie's handy work

Paula and Katie’s handy work

Lynn's wool hooking Santa

Lynn’s wool hooking Santa

Mary Ellen's project

Mary Ellen’s project

my progress

my progress

Monday morning the crew packed up and we drove to the airport and said our goodbyes. I was sad to see everyone go. I drove back to the retreat house to begin cleaning and mid-morning I got a call from Lynn saying she and Gloria were at Memorial Hermann in the medical center. Oh my word! Gloria had a dizzy spell and they took her via ambulance to the hospital. They missed their flight and rescheduled it to fly out Tuesday morning. I picked them up after she was released and they were pretty tired from it all. They had already checked their bags so no luggage to worry about but that also meant no “stuff”. We drove back to LaPorte, got meds and dinner, Gloria rested some and they settled in the night.

our wonderful group

our wonderful group

This morning we went back to the airport and they were given instructions to let me know they got on the plane and they did! They got seated and got home. I’m very thankful all went well, that was scary!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Carrousel Ride

  1. Donna says:

    This was such fun and a relaxing few days. I could have stayed another week or two! The house was perfect and the craft room even better. Hope to see you again soon.

  2. Anjie Chapman says:

    Our time with you in LaPorte was definitely The best ever!!! Thank you so much for a wonderful time. I cannot wait for the next visit.

  3. What a fun time with talented friends! I hope I can make it to your retreat some day!

Leave a Reply

