Test Drive

The time came for us to do a “test drive” at the house. I invited a few friends over to help to a trial run at the retreat house over this past weekend. I got some input on things that I need to add, but overall I was very pleased and I think everyone else was as well.

We started working Friday afternoon and I started working on my Quiltworx, Captain’s Wheel. It was my intent to get that one FINISHED and I did! I was so excited. I just love the word “DONE”.

after the "rope" was attached

after the “rope” was attached

a closer view of the quilt

a closer view of the quilt

Linda H. was working on these cute little “Texas” flag mini quilts and I made a bargain with her that if she made one for me that I would finish the binding on her remaining 3 quilts. I forgot to take a picture of them, but trust me they are cute and they would be perfect in my Texas room! I went home and got my England Design, State of Texas quilt to see about quilting it and I took another one but I didn’t get to it. Linda was trying to show me a new technique that she uses when doing crosshatch quilting. She was very kind to “show me” and then she decided just to go ahead and do it herself! I didn’t argue one second. Like I said I love DONE!

Linda used red thread and it looks great! Thank you so much, Linda! Cynthia normally just quilts in the ditch, but I like this much better and guess where it is going… in my Texas room (aka back porch).

England Design's State of Texas

England Design’s State of Texas

Saturday, I got a text from Diana A and she had a flower arrangement for me for the house. She offered to put it together for me; otherwise if I had done it, it would have looked terrible. It was for the mantle and I just love it! Thanks Diana for doing the arrangement – it is perfect! It looks great on the mantle with the clock and my star.

new stuff for the mantle

new stuff for the mantle

I love the arrangement and clock!

I love the arrangement and clock!

While we were working in the craft room we got some visitors and that was wonderful! Diana P stopped by, then Pam J and then Karen R. It was great; it kind of reminded me when people did stop by a long time ago! Thank you ladies for stopping by, feel free to do so any time!

On Sunday I decided to open up the house and it was just heavenly. I could not help but think of times past watching the curtains blow in and blow out. We had a great breeze Sunday and the temperature was just perfect for opening the windows. It was such a peaceful feeling.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

