Sew Special

I was approached a while ago by Georgann on behalf of the Lakeview quilt guild if I would let them rent the craft room for a sew day. They wanted to be able to work on the 2016 donation quilt for Lakeview. Of course, I said sure!

That sew day was today! I was honored that they asked and it was my pleasure hosting nine very talented women! I even got to show them the house, an added bonus for me.

We got our assignment and got started. It was a paper piecing 15–inch feathered star block and they chose Laundry Basket Quilt fabric from Moda using teals and browns.

Alert – Sue gave me two huge paper piecing tips! One was to lower the stitch length to 1.1. Results: the papers just about peals off and best of all you don’t have to worry about ripping out. Should you have incorrect placement, all you do is take your scissors and cut as close to the seam as possible and then pull your fabric away. Once you do that all you have to do is pull the other side away. Since you have still have an oversized piece to work with you just put it down and sew it in correctly.

LeeAnn, Sharon, Marcia, Claudia, Kris, Georgann and Sue

LeeAnn, Sharon, Marcia, Claudia, Kris, Georgann and Sue

Sue, keeping us in stitches

Sue, keeping us in stitches

Sharon and Marsha

Sharon and Marsha

Kris and Georgann

Kris and Georgann

Sue and Jerrianne

Sue and Jerrianne

Claudia and Marcia

Claudia and Marcia

Some of the ladies finished faster than the others, but I guess that is par for the course. Some took their block home to finish; I stayed there until I finished mine. We had a great time and it was a lot of fun sewing with all these very talented ladies.

4 blocks finished

4 blocks finished

my star in sections

my star in sections

mine is done

mine is done

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sew Special

  1. Renee says:

    How wonderful! Making a feathered star quilt is on my wish list. What pattern did you use?

Leave a Reply

