Double Duty

I have to admit that all the sewing and cooking is a lot of fun, but it is a lot of work as well and by the time I got home I was pretty tired. After I unpacked the cold stuff yesterday and I took a long nap and even after that I’m still very tired, but the show must go on. Ha!

Today I got go coffee pot shopping after I got finished at the dentist. I went to Ace Mart Restaurant Supply and boy was that fun. They have everything and they are open to the public so if you need anything for kitchen or entertaining – this is the place to go. I got a Bunn coffee pot! I hope you guys like it!

I got started sorting through receipts for taxes today! Oh my word, that is one big mess! I worked on that for about 2 hours and then met Sheryl and Ms. Mary over at the retreat house to give them a special tour. I sure enjoyed them being there, it was fun.

After David got off work he came to the house and we worked on ironing surface. I am always looking for ways to use things with a dual purpose. With that in mind, I need a rectangular ironing top, but it has to have storage under it, I bought a display case from my friend, Sandy. I got it all cleaned up, then I wanted to see how it would look if we used it as the base for the ironing bottom. We measured it to the size we needed for the ironing surface. David cut a piece of MDF board and then he put a frame on the bottom so that the surface would not slide. While I was gone over the weekend, David was gracious enough to do some painting on the base and even painted the sliding doors in the back. I got some ironing cloth from Joann’s and then I cleaned up the edges and today we attached it using a staple gun. I think the end result looks pretty good. Therefore, double duty!

my display case

my display case

MDF board all trimmed down

MDF board all trimmed down

braces on the bottom

braces on the bottom

my ironing cloth

my ironing cloth

our new ironing display case

our new ironing display case

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Pieceful Stitches and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Double Duty

  1. I love your display case aka ironing surface. You may want to keep a table cloth at the ready for those impromptu wine and cheese afternoon snacks (wink wink!)

Leave a Reply

