Daily Threads

Sorry I haven’t written lately, but it has been crazy busy. I worked Monday and Tuesday of this past work and tried to do a couple of odd jobs around the retreat house. We did get one of my sewing machine lamp finished and in place. We also did a little tweaking on the new ironing surface.

our new lamp

our new lamp

Wednesday was a heavy-duty errand day. I ended up going to 4 grocery stores and David even went to one for me. I was in search of a white chicken chili mix that seemed to not exist. I ended up not getting it but it all worked out just fine. I had a lot of prep work before heading to Wimberley Quilt Ranch to be the cook for HollyDee Quilts. Denise taught the Quiltworx pattern, Fire Island Hosta. I had two rotisserie chickens to de-bone, boil chicken and get it all shredded and make a Vanilla Wafer cake. Not to mention I had to pull kitchen items and pack that as well as my sewing stuff.

I also get to be a student and make what she is teaching if I want to. ☺ When I first saw this pattern I didn’t like it much, but when I was in Charlotte, NC with Cynthia back in July I found a kit at Tennessee Quilts that was made up in Kaffee Fassett fabrics and I knew that if I could use that kit I would want to make it. I finally decided to get one of their kits. I really like the way it is turning out. I did get another set of my piecing finished. Only two more bags to do and I planned to finish them in Wimberley.

bag 2

bag 2

We got the car all packed up and headed out but had to stop at tire place first as I had a low tire. It threw me an hour late, but I didn’t want to risk getting on the road and having a flat. It all worked out and Cathy and I arrived around noon. We (thanks Cathy, Denise, Diane and Cheryl for all the extra hands) unpacked car, then all the kitchen stuff and then to set up my sewing nest for the weekend.

our groceries and sewing supplies

our groceries and sewing supplies

We had a mini quilt show of some beautiful quilts that some of the ladies had finished and had brought to show. We also had a beautiful sunset while we were there.

Melba's quilt

Melba’s quilt

Melba's backing and quilting

Melba’s backing and quilting

another of Melba's quilts.

another of Melba’s quilts.

Diane's top

Diane’s top

sunset

sunset

We had a great group of ladies and I am always in awe of the different color palettes out there and enjoy seeing how they unfold. One of the ladies, Lou Ann had all of her piecing done before she got there and that is the trick to a finished product. Her fabrics were just gorgeous and she was able to finish her top! I have to admit I was a little jealous, but a good note to self for the next time.

Lou Ann's pieces

Lou Ann’s pieces

Lou Ann's all on the wall

Lou Ann’s all on the wall

this is Cathy's top

this is Cathy’s top

Cheryl's top

Cheryl’s top

Lou Ann's all finished

Lou Ann’s all finished

this one is mine

this one is mine

We forgot to get a group photo of everyone, so sorry about that and I even took my tripod. Ugh!

This is what Denise worked on for her next workshop.

Denise's next workshop in April

Denise’s next workshop in April

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Threads

  1. helen says:

    On Bush’s Beans site there is a simple recipe for White Chicken Chili. I cheat a little and simmer the chicken breasts in water and then use that to cut down the salt (I have BP problems). It is easily doubled or tripled. You can add hot sauce to your taste.

  2. Pingback: Hot Hot Hot – Fire Island Hosta – Retreat! | HollyDee Quilts

Leave a Reply

