Making It Count

How are you and your “word” getting along? You may recall, I chose the word “discipline”. I have some good days and some not-so-good days! I’ve been trying to do better with my eating and my exercise and it is definitely a work in progress! Ha!

I’ve been also trying to do better with my time, trying to use it better. It seems like my list is getting longer and my time is getting shorter. I had half of my blog post typed up and some how they disappeared! I’m not sure what happened and now I have to start all over. Darn computers!

Friday I went to the retreat house and did some cleaning and some decorating and David planned to hang my quilt tile in front of the house. Well, I think it ended up falling into the category of “taking more time than was planned”. He did get it hung and it looks incredible! It adds so much!

my quilt tile

my quilt tile

another view

another view

I love to look at the porch

I love to look at the porch

Saturday we met Andy, my Webmaster over at the house so he could take some photos and update the website. We always enjoy showing off the house! I try to add little things that make the house cozy and special for the ones coming to stay. You will have to go to the website and see what he has done. Also he has added a feature on the website where you can sign up for my newsletters. (scroll down on the home page) In case you aren’t on my mailing list you may want to register for any classes, special events that might be added or “open enrollments”.

den area

den area

30's room

30’s room

30's room

30’s room

more in the 30's room

more in the 30’s room

We changed out the surge protectors; the other ones weren’t long enough. Now one would not think that those would be that difficult or that it makes that much of a difference, but I’m here to tell you they are NOT created equal. The cords are not the same and the prongs are different. Some have a flat head and some are plugged in straight on; just take my word they were a challenge, but I think we found the perfect ones.

new surge protectors

new surge protectors

We did a few more odds and ends at the house and then drove over to Karen’s mom’s (an childhood friend) birthday party. Joy, her mom is turning 85! What a number, I hope I live to be 85. Karen said she and I met in 1964, now how she knew that I don’t know, but it has been a long time! I sure had some wonderful trips with Karen and her family when I was young. Karen’s dad, Bill always called me “carrot top” and seemed to always have gum to pass out to me. I sure loved them and Joy was always the strong, silent type and she was always so attentive to her family. Back in the 70’s Joy started cooking better for Bill and that sure stuck with me. I was always amazed at how she would go the extra mile. It was fun to be with her on her special day and remember old times and see old friends.

Pam,another high school friend, Karen and me

Pam,another high school friend, Karen and me

David, Joy and myself

David, Joy and myself

Guess who came over Saturday evening? Wyatt and Kynlee came and spent the night! It seems like it has been forever since we’ve seen them. They were so funny; I sure enjoy watching them and listening to them. Wyatt is talking more and more, he would go and play and then he would say “oh my goodness”. It was so funny!

Wyatt and Kynlee

Wyatt and Kynlee

Wyatt, Kynlee and David

Wyatt, Kynlee and David

Wyatt loves books

Wyatt loves books

I like to take old, rusty sewing machines and even percolators and make lamps. I asked David to make a few lamps for me. I think they add special touches to the house. He worked on the sewing machine today and the percolator. He came in and told me we had a little trouble. He was drilling a hole in the glass top and it shattered me and he had this little clay flowerpot that was the perfect shape. Then I got to thinking what did I have in the house that would be basically the same but in glass. I found it…a shot glass! We are going to have to modify it, but I think it will work!

my sewing machine

my sewing machine

my percolator

my percolator

the little flowerpot

the little flowerpot

shot glass

shot glass

After Wyatt and Kynlee left we drove back to the retreat house to do a few more odd jobs. We moved things around in the craft room. I have a special idea for the ironing surface, more on that later. We also worked in the yard some and David removed the support posts for the quilt tile. Wow! Thanks Babe for all your hard work!

the barn tile all finished

the barn tile all finished

the new front view

the new front view

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Home remodel, Outdoors, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making It Count

  1. Can’t wait to see/hear about your pressing surface ideas – I am trying to decide what to do in my space and have not hit on a perfect idea yet! Hopefully I can just steal your idea when you share! Cause you know – you are the BEST right!? I love that you share your house with all of us! Can’t wait to teach there in later this year!

Leave a Reply

