Was That A Bird?

Oh my word, today we had a beautiful day here in the Houston area, the SUN actually came out and showed its pretty face and it even warmed up enough for me to take off my jacket! I drove over to the retreat house and I just wanted to sit in awe! I can’t believe this special house belongs to us; I just love it over there. The landscaping took a huge turn upward. First off, they planted the red oak tree, all the Japanese yews, and they had all the smaller plants put where they needed to go – just not planted yet.

tree is in!

tree is in!

plants are in place

plants are in place

these are ready to go in

these are ready to go in

David and I went in to finish up the design walls. We used foam insulation boards that we got from Home Depot and then I had 3 yards of fleece from Joann’s for each board. We used a staple gun to attach the fleece and then we used Velcro pads to get them on the wall. Of course we had to cut out the patches where the outlets were, but we got them all up. Wahoo!

fleece

fleece

insulation boards

insulation boards

While we were working in the craft room the landscaper’s finished doing all the planting and then cleaned up. I can’t get over how much the landscaping added to the house. We should have been in an episode of “curb appeal”. Ha!

Tomorrow we have our first group over to sew; it is the Easy Piecer’s group part of Lakeview quilt guild. I’m very excited and a little nervous trying to get all the last minute things in place before everyone arrives.

As we were finishing up inside, I had to take things out to the car and I got to see all of our beautiful landscaping all lit up! I had no idea the lights would add so much! I took “night photos” but they didn’t turn out very goods. I guess I will take better ones tomorrow!

night lights

night lights

from the porch corner

from the porch corner

along the front of the house

along the front of the house

on the side

on the side

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Home remodel, Outdoors, Pieceful Stitches and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Was That A Bird?

  1. Tasha York says:

    You are beautiful, talented, gifted, and blessed – can not wait till August!

  2. Linda LaBrot says:

    Congratulation, again, on the opening of your retreat house. It looks spectacular. The landscaping was the embellishment that makes it zing.

Leave a Reply

