Welcome 2015

How is your new year going? Have you been busy trying to finish a project or did you get to start a new one? I had planned on working on one of my block swaps but I’ve been totally into working on my Primitive Gatherings, Sunflower Gathering blocks. I get started on a block and then I try to get find a stopping point and I seem to have a hard time finding one. Ha! So I Sew! 😉

block 5

block 5

progress on block 5

progress on block 5

I have a little confession regarding block 3. This is the block that I cut out and worked on in September and I had to cut out 52 little ¼ inch flower segments. After I cut them out I was a little horrified to work with them, so I set them aside until this past weekend. Mary Ellen kept telling me to put them in a bag, she was afraid someone would sneeze and blow them all over the room. After all the procrastination I have to admit it wasn’t near as bad as I thought it would be, in fact, it was kind of fun seeing the flower take shape.

block 3

block 3

look at 3 now

look at 3 now

see the cute little flower parts

see the cute little flower parts

My year has gotten off to a busy start. Our Bunco/running group got together on Saturday and had a progressive dinner. We went to three houses and had a great time. It is hard to beat good friends, good food and good times. Thanks for all the ones that came, cooked/brought food to the homes.

our group.

our group.

the rest of the group

the rest of the group

Little by little, we are re-claiming our house. We are getting things put away and getting some furniture in new places in our house. Joseph was kind enough to come over and help David get them moved around. He is my favorite son-in-law! Look at this piece…what do you think it was? I’m thinking it was in a hotel.

new furniture

new furniture

doors closed

doors closed

Back in October, David’s brother, Ricky brought me Cindy’s seed cabinet. We have had it stored in our neighbor’s garage. Thank you Mr. Don! Oh my goodness, I love it. We have all the parts; we just need to put them together.

back of the seed cabinet

back of the seed cabinet

the front

the front

Yesterday I decided to work in our pantry and go through it and throw away things that were out of date. I did make some headway! It looks much better.

At the retreat house we did take delivery of the refrigerator for the craft room and today we had someone start putting down the floor in the back porch. They used the wood I got from Historic Houston Salvage, which was from a 1911 church, it looks pretty rough, but I think it will clean up very well. We went back later and they actually finished putting it in. Hopefully, sanding will be tomorrow.

new frig for the craft room

new frig for the craft room

back porch almost done

back porch almost done

all installed

all installed

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Antiques, Family, Friends, Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Welcome 2015

  1. Sue Fry says:

    Where do you get your patterns for the primitive blocks?

    • ronda926 says:

      these are designed by Lisa Bongean of Primitive Gatherings. i just love them!

      • Sue Fry says:

        Thanks for the fast reply going to get this book/patterns, I love to applique and I have plenty of civil war fabric fat quarters and up. So this is going to be my winter project you have inspired me!!

Leave a Reply

