Eve or Day?

Something I’ve learned over the years is that traditions are nice but sometimes you just have to make new ones! Since Brok and Candice weren’t coming down for either of the holidays and it just happened to work out that David and I took Christmas to them. Candice had planned a two-day holiday vacation in Grapevine. They were going to stay at Great Wolf Lodge and play in the waterpark and then go to the Gaylord Texan to see Frosty the Snowman ice exhibit and then on Sunday go to North Pole Express.

It worked out wonderfully. The room was large enough to share, so we bunked up and I think that was one of my favorite parts – going to bed at the same time – it was like watching the end of The Walton’s.

Before we left town we did manage to receive, set up and get the new tables for the craft room.

before tables

before tables

after tables

after tables

classroom blackboard

classroom blackboard

Saturday we left home and drove up to Grapevine, checked in the hotel and met up with the kids. They were playing in the waterpark, so we got a wet welcome but it was a good one! They played for a while and then it was time to get ready to go eat and go to the Gaylord Texan Frosty the Snowman Ice exhibit. We ended up meeting my sister’s family, Penny, Steve and Andrew at Uncle Julio’s Mexican Restaurant and then all going to the Ice Show. We had a wonderful evening! If you have time to attend the ice exhibit it is worth your time and effort!

Hunter

Hunter

Hailey

Hailey

Candice, Penny and Brok

Candice, Penny and Brok

Frosty exhibit at the Gaylord Texan

Frosty exhibit at the Gaylord Texan

Hailey, Candice, Hunter and Brok

Hailey, Candice, Hunter and Brok

Steve, Andrew and Penny

Steve, Andrew and Penny

Frosty exhibit at the Gaylord Texan

Frosty exhibit at the Gaylord Texan

Hailey and David

Hailey and David

Hailey on the ice slide

Hailey on the ice slide

Hunter on the Ice North Pole Express

Hunter on the Ice Train

Frosty exhibit at the Gaylord Texan

Frosty exhibit at the Gaylord Texan

they were amazed at the ice show

they were amazed at the ice show

Frosty exhibit at the Gaylord Texan

Frosty exhibit at the Gaylord Texan

Candice, Hailey, Hunter and Brok

Candice, Hailey, Hunter and Brok

my sister, Penny and me

my sister, Penny and me

family time just sitting around, Hailey was telling us about Hocus Pocus

family time just sitting around, Hailey was telling us about Hocus Pocus

Sunday we all went to the waterpark and played. Yes, even I got in the water! David and I rode 4 of the 5 slides and we really enjoyed it. We played until it was time to go get ready for the next event…North Pole Express. They had sold out for the ride that they kids were ridding but I was hopeful that maybe 2 people would not show up and that we could ride too. Luckily I was right! We loaded up and off we went to the North Pole! It was a lot of fun! Candice, I’m so sorry my other pictures didn’t turn out well! Ugh!

on the North Pole Express in Grapevine

on the North Pole Express in Grapevine

After breakfast on Monday we headed to Hugo, Oklahoma to visit David’s family. We got to see most everyone and we got a family photo of the siblings all together. A huge thanks goes out to Ricky for being our gracious host!

Gene, David, Ricky and Milly

Gene, David, Ricky and Milly

Today we headed home and I got to stitch on my Primitive Gatherings, Sunflower Gatherings summer block of the week all the way home, which was an added plus. I got most of it done. We got home around 3, unloaded and then David went to Wal-Mart to get a few groceries and then we cooked some.

my block in progress

my block in progress

Do you enjoy your time with the family on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day? I have always enjoyed “Day” the most; I know most of you gather on “Eve”. Tonight it is just David and I sitting by the fire and watching Christmas movies.

I am truly blessed. Regardless of when or where you gather I hope you are blessed by your daily threads! Merry Christmas to you all!
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Holidays, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

