Punch List

It is the final countdown and every day is a new list! Wednesday we had pest control visit, delivery of furniture, the AC repairman came and checked out the downstairs heater and the upstairs AC, drywall repair and the cable installed. I had to make a last minute drive to pick up some flooring for the back porch from Historic Houston Salvage. We decided to pick it up and have it, but it will not be installed by Sunday. I opted to not worry about that and try to finish up some other things. It won’t be the only thing not finished, but at least you will get a good idea of things to come. Julie picked up lunch for her and I and helped me and we got some of the chairs moved in and a few tables and whatever else she and I could move in.

wood for the back porch

wood for the back porch

newly painted front porch floor

newly painted front porch floor

Thursday, David took the day off to help move in things and we received 16 mattress sets, washer, dryer, microwave, stove, refrigerator, and dishwasher. We had Pasadena Fence Company show up a day early, which was a pleasant surprise.

new fence

new fence

I had hoped that all of our textile order would have been ready for pickup on Tuesday or even Wednesday but it wasn’t meant to be. I had an excellent salesperson at Macy’s! Ms. Amber went above and beyond trying to get me the best deal on textiles and they did a great job pricing things out. My order was processed and ready for me to pick it up. Brenda and Cheryl came over to help me make beds, but since I didn’t have sheets they did other things. Cheryl had to leave early and offered to pick up my order since she was going to be on that side of town – so I said yes! Bless her heart; I think she got more than she bargained for. Amber advised me to have a truck and I knew it was a lot of stuff, but it was really hard to comprehend. Cheryl’s car was STUFFED to the brim with textiles! I think it took her 30 minutes just to unpack her trunk and as soon as I opened the back door stuff fell out of her car. We laughed; she said it was a good thing that it was all SOFT! I don’t know how many trips it took us to get her unpacked but we finally got it done. I’ve never seen so many bags from Macy’s!

Cheryl's sleigh trunk

Cheryl’s sleigh trunk

Cheryl's sleigh from the door and notice the very back

Cheryl’s sleigh from the door and notice the very back

Cheryl's sleigh is now in the house

Cheryl’s sleigh is now in the house

Mom and Dad came over later and Mom and I made 11 beds and Mom made most of those, I helped with the bed skirts. Dad even helped with the towels by tearing off price tags and then folded them.

a sneak peak from one of the bedrooms

a sneak peak from one of the bedrooms

Friday,Pasadena Fence came and finished up the new fence and it looks amazing. Brenda came over and we finished making all but one bed and we moved some things around, cleaned up and we had a landscaper come over to clean up the backyard, do some basic leveling and laying some sod. We worked till about 3, and drove to Tyler to spend some time with Kyle and family and to be with them on Saturday to watch him get his degree from University of Texas at Tyler. The house was really taking shape on Friday when we left, it was hard to leave but it was for the best. I almost felt like it was a little bit of a reprieve not to have to mess with it for a day.

the fence line along the front

the fence line along the front

Saturday we slept in a little although I had a hard time sleeping and sill got up before everyone else. Kyle’s graduation was at 1 and we had a party for him at 5:30. We had a big family gathering. It was fun and I was sure one proud momma to see my son graduate Cum Laude and has a job waiting for him in January teaching 4th grade math and science! All of my children are very special and they all have very special characteristics. Kyle has a very loving and gentle spirit and is going to be a wonderful teacher.

Adley and Kara

Adley and Kara

Kyle getting his cords

Kyle getting his cords

Kyle and myself

Kyle and myself

Kara, Adley and Kyle

Kara, Adley and Kyle

me, Kyle and David

me, Kyle and David

Dad, me, Kyle, David, Kara, Adley and Mom

Dad, me, Kyle, David, Kara, Adley and Mom

IMG_9009

Penny and Kyle

Penny and Kyle

Pattie, Kyle, me and Penny

Pattie, Kyle, me and Penny

Adley, Joanna and Kyle

Adley, Joanna and Kyle

While we were in Tyler, two of David’s coworkers, Mike and Juan assembled 14 office chairs and another coworker, Mark made an arbor for the house. It takes a village! A huge, heartfelt thanks goes out to everyone that has helped or contributed to our retreat house. For there is no way we could have done this by ourselves.

I don’t know what I did to deserve so much, I really don’t think I do deserve it all! I have made mistakes and I have a few regrets but God has graced me with forgiveness and some amazing people love me. I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

