Are You Still There?

I’ve been missing you, but I haven’t really had that much to report so I decided to forego writing even though a lot has been going on.

I did get a few stitches in over the weekend, but not much to speak of. Monday and Tuesday I worked at England Designs and Tuesday we had our Christmas luncheon at Topwater Grill in San Leon and it was very good. That was our last day to work in 2014. It felt kind of funny not having to go back, but it was a mixed blessing as I have so many last minute things coming down the pike with the retreat house. Both evenings after I got home David and I worked on doorknobs/plates for the house. John was pressing us to get these done and I guess it was a good thing he was, we got them totally cleaned up and someone suggested that we use Brasso to help clean up brass. It helped get all the gunk off but they still really didn’t have much luster so I decided Monday night to get out the spray paint. First I sprayed the underneath to see how it might look, and then I got brave to paint the front side of one. I used flat black spray paint and I really like how they turned out, then I did it to the other 9 sets. They almost look new even though they aren’t. We had quite the process going!

door knobs all re-painted

door knob plates all re-painted

a couple more

a couple more

John has spent the last 3 evenings getting them put back in the doors and then punching out the kick plate that goes on the trim for the “tongue”. (That is what I call it). I have to say the doors and knobs look amazing.

see the pretty door and knobs !

see the pretty door and knobs !

Over a few days, this was Grant’s handy work, he did necessary work to the exterior wall of the house that was in bad shape due to some hungry termites!

this is down to the bone to do termite damage repair

this is down to the bone to do termite damage repair

more repair

more repair

all done, now to re-paint

all done, now to re-paint

Yesterday I stayed home most of the day, I decided to clean up my playroom – I have been out of control lately. Receipts and stuff just seem to have now rightful home and that had to come to an end! Oh and best of all, I got to sew. I had cut out my trees and 9-patches on Sunday, so they were ready to stitch. I got 12 little Christmas trees and 12 9-patches all sewn up. Oh, I have an ironing tip to share from Sally Collins. I think I mentioned it before, but it really works. When you are pressing, have you ever noticed how you can press and then the corners or edges still bounce up? Well put your big ruler on top of it until it has time to cool off, it will flat as a pancake! You don’t have to use starch!

my blocks drying or cooling off

my blocks drying or cooling off

my cute little blocks

my cute little blocks

After sewing I needed to work on our business checking account and do some accounting and I had really neglected that and that took several hours to get that to where it needed to be. A couple of months ago I bought QuickBooks for me to use for the business but it doesn’t work if you don’t download it on the computer! I did that last night and then I realized I needed to update my Internet explorer. Ugh! I finally got that done and I was off to bed.

Thursday I had a routine healthcare appointment, I got that done and then went home, loaded up curtains and rods for the den area and for the dining room and off I went to meet Gretchen to get the rods installed. On my drive over I also scheduled delivery of the appliances and upon my arrival met with Pasadena Fence Company. They are set to do fence next week.

curtain handy work

curtain handy work

The electricians were at the house today doing last minute changes and moves and the tile man came to do the backsplash for the kitchenette. Grant prepped the floor in the craft room getting it ready for the new flooring.

waiting for electric in the floor of the craft room

waiting for electric in the floor of the craft room

new fixtures in the craft room

new fixtures in the craft room

Hopefully the plumbers will finish up tomorrow and then the floors. I am so very blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are You Still There?

  1. Linda LaBrot says:

    The retreat house is looking awesome! Love the black hardware on the doors. It will be done before you know it!

    • ronda926 says:

      thank you! I really think the last minute glitches are going to get the best of me, but I’m hanging in there! hope to see you and hubby at the open house.

Leave a Reply

