Sweat Equity

Do you ever have those nights when you go to bed and you are tired but are still wound up and can’t go to sleep? Then you finally go to sleep and then only an hour later, you wake up and then it really sets in, toss/turn/think and then finally get up and go do something before you can really go back to sleep. Part of the problem could be the confounded time change!

I’m beginning to think that sweat equity is for the birds! I have to admit that I’m all for saving money (most of the time) but sometimes it is just NOT worth it. I know we have done a lot of little odd and end jobs for the retreat house and they pay off both in money and satisfaction that things look better and being able to say WE did that, but thank goodness I CANNOT do it all!

Golden is steadily working on the floors, sanding, scraping, buffing and I’m not sure what else, but I am happy as a lark that I’m not doing the floors. Pure and simple it is a lot of hard work.

this is the upper section of the stairs, the white was covered by the oak veneer

this is the upper section of the stairs, the white was covered by the oak veneer

standing in the landing and looking down

standing in the landing and looking down

Sunday we went to look at the house and ended up bringing home 2 doors to strip and sand so we can get rid of the countless coats of paint on them. We had taken the upstairs door home before but only got half of it done before we had to take it back. So we took the bedroom door and the beautiful bodacious blue panty door in the kitchen. I don’t think I can stand looking at that ugly blue door one more day!

trim painted on the craft room

trim painted on the craft room

trim going on to the front

trim going on to the front

I caught Grant hanging the attic stairway

I caught Grant hanging the attic stairway

Sunday we started working on the bedroom door and we did pretty well, but ran out of daylight and called it a day. Last night I asked him if he would set me up before he left for work and I’d work on the blue door. David was ever so kind enough to honor my request and I had the hook up! With the earlier daylight I got to work before 7 and I have to say that it “sucked the life out of me”! 😉 Not really, but it was NOT going to win. I worked on it until almost 11 and it looks so much better. I have no idea what type of paint was originally used but it didn’t want to come off. I finally had to break out the sander to get to the wood and I ran out of stripper. I almost feel like we have “toxic” waste out there! There is a lot of green gunk!

this is the door for the red bedroom, I just have to sand it.

this is the door for the red bedroom, I just have to sand it.

our hideous pantry door

our hideous pantry door

look at that blue just bubble up

look at that blue just bubble up

so many colors

so many colors

still more paint colors

still more paint colors

my gloves actually stuck holding onto the scraper

my gloves actually stuck holding onto the scraper

this is from 2 sides

this is paint gunk from one door

this was the end result.  I think it is good enough to paint.

this was the end result. I think it is good enough to paint.

I even got to strip the doorknobs. I don’t think they knew that they were not to be painted. Ugh!

look at the shine on the door handle.  I uncovered it from purple paint on one side and white on the other

look at the shine on the door handle. I uncovered it from purple paint on one side and white on the other

I went to the retreat house this afternoon and we had workers in the house working on the floors, roofers on the craft room, more trim painting and Grant working on the trim on the porch. Good stuff!

roof going on the craft room today

roof going on the craft room today

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweat Equity

  1. helen freese says:

    When we built our dream house and subbed work we could not do outselves, I made a practice of baking muffins and bringing them to the workers about 9 am. They had their thermoses with them from home. I am sure they had other clients, but they were sure to be on my job when I arrived. You know the old Methodist saying, “If you feed them, they’ll come”.

Leave a Reply

