Behind the Scenes

Thankfully while I’ve been running around working at the Market the different subcontractors have been plugging away at the house. David’s brother, Ricky came in for a visit last weekend and brought me a few odds and ends. One of the things he brought me was this sweet little concrete angel for me to sit in my garden at the retreat house. I love my little “quilt” angel.

my new quilt angel

my new quilt angel

David also got to work on my barn tile for the house. He had to adhere all the pieces down – I just love it and I really look forward to seeing it hung over at the house after everything is done.

my block that David worked on

my block that David worked on

We have progress in the house – Golden is working on the floors. He started Monday sanding in the upstairs and when our painter got sick, Golden got the go ahead to work on the downstairs too. What a difference the floors make! We definitely have pine floors because when you open the door to enter the house you can smell all the pine! What a lovely smell! The upstairs are really coming around. The most exciting place in the house is the kitchen – it had the worst wear. In fact, Golden was a little worried too. He had to beef up the sand paper to get below all the grime and glue that was on top of the wood, but success was achieved. We are all elated on how nice it is looking. I even got to audition floor stains. Wahoo!

dining room

dining room

kitchen

kitchen

kitchen

kitchen

front red room

front red room

the 30's bedroom

the 30’s bedroom

den

den

stain choices

stain choices

working on the stairs

working on the stairs

The craft room is making progress as well. Grant is working on the columns on the new front porch and has even constructed a cover for the back porch. They both are looking good.

we have air conditioning

we have air conditioning

ac stuff

ac stuff

outside

outside

another view of the outside

another view of the outside

my new porch

my new porch

new back porch

new back porch

The wall that will be part of the bathroom is up. The electricians came out and are doing the wiring, good things are happening and a lot more to come!

new bathroom wall

new bathroom wall

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Behind the Scenes

  1. It is looking FABULOUS!!! Love love love the wood floors!

  2. helen freese says:

    My husband and I took 3 years to build our dreamhouse. Understand a little of what you are going through. We subbed out some work and worshipped at the altar of the hammer and nail for the rest. The work looks really great.
    P>S> Did you happen to receive a little package with a Scottie?

    • ronda926 says:

      yes, I sure did. I was going to write about it, but just haven’t gotten to it yet. you are very kind and i really appreciate it! i will write about it after quilt show!

Leave a Reply

