Hopping Like Crazy

Things are abnormally crazy, I know you may think that about me already but it seems like it is more so these days. Yesterday I left my house around 9:15 and I was off and running all day, I didn’t return home until almost 7, ate dinner and then David and I went over to Mom and Dad’s house.

The one thing I really enjoyed about yesterday was my annual quilt angel day, the only day I get to be an angel! I know I have said that before but I still like it and I really liked unwrapping the beautiful quilts and seeing their individual beauty, as they are unfolded, almost like a Christmas gift. Some of them are truly amazing; I can’t even begin to imagine the time it took to make them, not to mention skill level and expertise! This year I was more of a director than a hanger and what that means I read the map and then showed them where they went before they are hung. IQA takes great strides in taking care of the quilts they are entrusted long before we get to see them. They carefully, fold, stuff with tissue paper to make sure they put in are put in box packed with extra tender loving care. They have the largest boxes I’ve ever seen and they never over-pack a box, I think they even sensor the weight of the quilts. The angels take sheets to each bay, spread them on the floor and then an angel with gloves unpacks them and carefully puts them on top of the sheets. When the hangers come to hang they are handled with gloves and strategically placed for show. If you have never participated in this, it truly is a life-changing event. I come away in awe each year. Plus I truly enjoy meeting all the groups of people involved in this event. I didn’t get to take as many pictures as I have in the past, but I did take a sneak peak of the “Ruby Jubilee” exhibit. They weren’t finished but I will share what I pictures I took.

I liked this one, notice the tiny details

I liked this one, notice the tiny details

this is a little hexie quilt

this is a little hexie quilt

this one was very nice, loved the lace on it

this one was very nice, loved the lace on it

when this one came out it was very realistic

when this one came out it was very realistic

I loved this one too, the quilting was gorgeous

I loved this one too, the quilting was gorgeous

Ruby teaser

Ruby teaser

Ruby teaser

Ruby teaser

Ruby teaser

Ruby teaser

I liked this one too, but it wasn't hung yet

I liked this one too, but it wasn’t hung yet

Ruby teaser

Ruby teaser

Ruby teaser

Ruby teaser

Today was Houston International Market setup and it went unusually well. England Designs are in booth 1466, stop by and say hello! We finished in record time, at least as far as I was concerned. After setup, I went home and I thought I was going to take a little nap, but NO! I did a little computer catch-up work and then I was off to meet the “logo man” and then we setup my business cards and then postcards to hand out at festival. I was really hoping I would have them finished for market, but festival will work too. I will see more people there than I would at market. It is all good!

Then the icing on the cake, I met David at the retreat house and we surveyed the latest changes. I went in the house and the painter has sanded and primed the cabinets. Primer alone – it looks great, but it really looked good in “plain Jane”.

white cabinets

white cabinets

more white cabinets

more white cabinets

In the craft room the hardly plank siding continues, Grant got some installed on Wednesday. He even got the far end next to the roof closed in and it is now ready for the siding.

some siding on the back

some siding on the back

the back is almost finished

the back is almost finished

The plumbers came back and covered up the trenches they made for the pipe – now the back yard is a mess but it will all work out too. I also have 2 new doors one for the back porch and one for the entry in the craft room. Do you like them?

new door

new door


Things will be hopping again tomorrow, so I had better finish and get busy.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

