Weekend List

It seems when I don’t post anything for a few days it comes down to writing that there is almost too much to write about and this time is one of those times.

Friday I planned to finish construction my Judy Niemeyer’s Captain’s Wheel, I did get that finished and I was pretty happy about that. I thought it turned out pretty good, and to think I was a little nervous about some of my fabric choices. The only thing I need to do now is to finish the bias flange that goes between the outer stars and the border peaks.

one more row to add

one more row to add

all sewn together

all sewn together

a closer look

a closer look

I did get a note from John telling me that the new windows that we ordered from Window World were being installed. I’ve been waiting to see how they will look. I love the old windows but a lot of them are in terrible shape so replacing them was a no brainer, but some of them were ok and I love my wavy glass. I didn’t really like them at first, but they kind of grew on me.

one of the new window sets

one of the new window sets

upstairs bedroom with new windows

upstairs bedroom with new windows

Back in 2010 I was a part of the 30’s group that met at the Painted Pony and we could participate in sewing up Nancy Mahoney’s Nellie’s Garden pattern. I chose to participate and it was fun, but it was a little challenging cutting out the circles and then machine appliquéing them down. This was my 8th quilt to make, so when it came to finishing it I did as the pattern said and it finished with a 2-inch border. I put it in my “to be quilted” closet until the other day. I decided I would get it quilted and put on one of the beds in the retreat house. Only one problem I decided that it really needed a little pop on the border, so I added an inner and outer border. I like it much better now.

Nellie's Garden what I did in 2010

Nellie’s Garden what I did in 2010

Nellie's Garden with the added border

Nellie’s Garden with the added border

a closer look of the top

a closer look of the top

In case you are wondering, I do keep a quilt journal of what I start, finish and special notes regarding my quilts. Otherwise I would NEVER remember! 😉

I got a call from Joseph asking if I would watch Wyatt and Kynlee overnight Friday night. I said that would be fine and they came over. It was fun to watching them.

Kynlee playing

Kynlee playing

they do play together well

they do play together well

he loves to sit in my spot

he loves to sit in my spot

Saturday afternoon David and I did go to a local mattress company to see what kind of deal we could get. He did give us a good offer, but I need to do some more research before I make my final decision. I think he was a little surprised when I told him I needed 16 twin size mattresses. He asked me “may I ask what you are going to do with them?” I said, “sure!” He may have been a little relieved after I answered his question.

I ended up going with Alicia L. to the all class reunion; it was for all the graduates of Channelview High School Saturday evening. It was a lot of fun and it was good to see some that I hadn’t seen in a good while and some that I didn’t recognize. It was a lot of fun catching up!

Today was a full day too, I got up and did my walk/run and then got ready to go to Princess Kynlee’s birthday party. We had a great time at the party; it was nice to catch up with my family.

Kynlee couldn't decided if she was a party girl or not

Kynlee couldn’t decided if she was a party girl or not

Kynlee and Granny

Kynlee and Granny

Josh and Wyatt

Josh and Wyatt

look at that pouty face

look at that pouty face

gift time

gift time

she really liked pulling all the tissue paper out

she really liked pulling all the tissue paper out

Wyatt was #1 helper, more goodies

Wyatt was #1 helper, more goodies

he wants to share and get away

he wants to share and get away

ok, now this is mine. he was pretty funny

ok, now this is mine. he was pretty funny

Kynlee was trying to get in the box

Kynlee was trying to get in the box

yummy cake!

yummy cake!

cake

cake

this is pretty good stuff

this is pretty good stuff

I think I'm going to be full

I think I’m going to be full

Wyatt in the getaway car

Wyatt in the getaway car

After the party we drove over to look at the retreat house. John worked a lot in the kitchen. We have cabinets in place! It looks so different – it is pretty exciting!

new kitchen cabinets

new kitchen cabinets

another view of cabinets

another view of cabinets

The tile guys worked more in the bathrooms, they finished putting up the tile around the white tub and they placed all the tile around the blue tub. They still need to finish doing the accent tile in both bathrooms, but progress is a great thing!

Friday bathroom progress

Friday bathroom progress

white tub and tile

white tub and tile

more white

more white

for the blue tub

for the blue tub

more on the blue tub

more on the blue tub

In the craft room things seem a little slow, we have been hit with rain for the last three days and that has detained things a bit. Grant did get the eves on the back and the front of the new building. He has secured scaffolding all around so hopefully the rest of the roof will go on tomorrow. He did add the fittings that the new windows will sit on.

front eves

front eves

new window on the bottom section

new window on the bottom section

eves on the back

eves on the back

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Family, Friends, Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekend List

  1. Vonda Wright says:

    Will you be booking retreats for your retreat house? If so, I would like the information. Happy quilting! Vonda.wright@yahoo.com

    • ronda926 says:

      yes, I will. please watch the blog and I will post when my website is up and running as well as the house. thanks for reading and watching! the website will have all the info

Leave a Reply

