Treasure Hunting

Friday morning I was rushing around like a chicken with its head cut off. I had backings to work on, quilts to deliver to be quilted, packing and it seemed like a ton of errands to take care of before I left for my little weekend getaway in Warrenton. Yes, it was that time of the year for me to go antiquing. Lucky for me, Brenda opened up her house for us to stay in LaGrange and I got to enjoy longer shopping trips for two days in a row. I didn’t hit Warrenton until after noon and since it was the last weekend of the show, I seem to be hitting it with tons of other people too. Traffic was just terrible but I managed to stay calm and wait my turn, just like everyone else. I finally got to my usual parking place and started by treasure hunt, but I was sure missing my friend, Mary. She is a good spotter and always helps me spend my money! Since I was later than normal, I did my path a little different this time, I went directly past Zapp Hall to a tent I love to shop in. I found lots of treasures but some I left because I’m still not completely sure about my space and how things will lay out in the house.

I did find a few vintage doily dresses, the cutest little toy wagon, a vintage toy iron, a few jars and an old book. I found an old “Fun with Dick and Jane” book in great shape but I left it behind. I also bought a couple of bowl sets and a couple of vintage wooden crates. I can’t wait to decorate with them using my old rolling pin collection.

some of my new treasures

some of my new treasures

David even got into the swing of things – he went to a church garage sale and found some old English ironstone, 8 plates and miscellaneous pieces for $5. Now I will say that he got a better deal than I did and I had to work a lot harder than he did too. It was fun.

new dishes from the garage sale

new dishes from the garage sale

After I got into town I drove directly to the house to see progress. I happen to notice this cute little flower coming up amidst all the construction – I thought it was cute and that I would share.

our sweet little purple flowers.  does anyone know what this is?

our sweet little purple flowers. does anyone know what this is?

They poured the sidewalks and porches Saturday and all the outside walls are up. Grant has been a genius in bracing everything and he started working on the eves of the addition today.

new front sidewalk

new front sidewalk

new back sidewalk pad

new back sidewalk pad

back wall

back wall

from the back corner looking toward the house

from the back corner looking toward the house

from inside

from inside

more inside the room looking through the windows

more inside the room looking through the windows

the eves

the eves

A good bit of the trim is done – back porch, entry into kitchen and windows, and the trim around the windows/floor in the master bedroom. The trim looks great!

kitchen windows

kitchen windows

back porch trim

back porch trim

trim in the kitchen

trim in the kitchen

master bedroom trim

master bedroom trim

A contractor came to the house and repaired the brick on the fireplace. It looks great, now I just need to clean it up – too bad he didn’t do that too! 😉

the fireplace repaired

the fireplace repaired

a closer view of the fireplace repair

a closer view of the fireplace repair

David worked on the ramp going into the house, he took out the old ramp and we now have a nice new one. It looks great, thanks Babe.

new ramp

new ramp

I also want to give a “happy birthday” shout out to my second son, Kyle. He turned 29 today. All of my children are so very special to me. If you have more than one child you know that each one is different and each one has a special place in your heart. He has always been a great son, but I have so enjoyed watching him grow and truly become a wonderful husband and father. Kyle, I love and you and I hope you have many more wonderful birthdays.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Antiques, Family, Friends, Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

