Concrete Day!

This morning I planned for a low stressed and somewhat of a relaxing morning, since I went to bed late I didn’t get up early. My phone needed to be charged so I left it on the charger while I worked on my churn dash blocks for my Happy Harvest pattern. I got them all nicely pressed and went to go shower.

my churn dash for Happy Harvest

my churn dash for Happy Harvest

When I went to my phone I noticed that I got a text from our contractor, John stating that concrete was being poured today! Oh my goodness, things were in a frenzy. I showered quickly and drove over to the house like someone was expecting a baby.

I got to the house and the first truck had already left and it was really a sight to behold. The guys were resting and at first I wasn’t really sure what was going on. I went to the front of the house and the lead concrete man was there and he explained that we had 2 more trucks coming. OK! See just like childbirth, you have to wait! Ha!

this is what I saw when I drove up…nice

this is what I saw when I drove up…nice

this is a lot of concrete

this is a lot of concrete

still more to come

still more to come

The second truck came in and I was so excited that I could scream and jump up and down, but I figured they might think I was some lunatic so I contained myself on the “outside”. I think the building process is a pretty amazing thing. The second truck got it all, but still needed the porch.

truck #2

truck #2

getting ready

getting ready

I sure liked the sound of that swish

I sure liked the sound of that swish

more and more

more and more

Grant marking where the windows will go

Grant marking where the windows will go

more slab

more slab

The last truck backed up and for some reason he almost didn’t stop soon enough and almost backed into the frames – that was a close call. Truck 3 finished the room and the porch and he was going to pull out and for some reason he didn’t realize he was backing up and hit the frame corner and then went forward. It was kind of funny to hear the guys all scream. They recovered from the goof up and all is good now.

truck #3

truck #3

he stopped just in time

he stopped just in time

now for the new porch

now for the new porch

more from #3

more from #3

finishing it

finishing it

I went in the house to discuss a few things with Grant and I finally realized that I needed to pick up our dog and off I went. Lizzy was glad to be home from her doggy camp – I don’t think she likes it there (anywhere for that matter).

I had a few more errands to run and went home and waited on Comcast to show up, long story short – they were a no show. I called them to reschedule, their customer service and/or contractors needs improvement. I did drive back over to see how they finished the slab. I was halfway tempted to scratch my initials/date in the concrete.

slab is sitting with the afternoon rain

slab is sitting with the afternoon rain

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Concrete Day!

  1. Brenda Winfield says:

    Go back and scratch your name in your new slab silly girl!

  2. gigiwcb@aol.com says:

    get over there and put yours and David’s name & date in that concrete right now!!!!! on the edge where it can be seen forever with a heart around ya’ll,

    THANKS, WENDY BYNUM 713-455-5000, 713-623-1609 fax PRIMERICA FINANCIAL SVS-DIV MGR D & D TAX CONSULTANTS-OWNER

  3. Hi there!

    I came across your post and I thought I’d leave a message to apologize for the technician not showing up for service call. I work for Comcast. If you need help in getting another technician out, please do not hesitate to contact me.

    I also hope you went back and scratched your name on that concrete slab! 🙂

    Best regards,

    ComcastMark
    We_can_help@cable.comcast.com
    @ComcastMark

    • ronda926 says:

      thank you for your note. yesterday was the rescheduled day already – the first visit on 9/12 he came and left within 5 minutes and told me he could not install to inside wall. I asked him to wait and he left anyway. I was SO upset hence the appointment for yesterday. I did receive 3 automated calls and all the people making the appts were fine. I now have a new appt for 10/4.

      no, I didn’t scratch our name but we have another opportunity a little later. thanks a bunch 🙂

Leave a Reply

