Home Alone

It has been a busy pas couple of days. Saturday was filled with food and laughter and we even had time to get some work done on our projects.

We team up for meals; Suzanne and Margie did dinner Friday night and breakfast Saturday morning. The fixed pizza and we had a new breakfast strata that was very good.

breakfast strata

breakfast strata

we love our feeding times

we love our feeding times

They gave us good tips on this product from Trader Joe’s, “Cookie butter” – it was pretty good, I may have to find some. It is good spread on toast and ice cream; we put it on pastry cookies.

a new find…try it you will like it!

a new find…try it you will like it!

I finished working on my 5-1/2” half square triangles; they are all sorted and ready to be passed out, I just have to bag and tag them.

my half squares for my Florida swap

my half squares for my Florida swap

Suzanne is our resident floral designer and she did a great job. I wished I would have remembered that and brought her something to work on for the retreat house. She did a wreath and vase for Margie – they sure turned out cute! Margie didn’t want to pose for the picture, so she is hiding her face!

Suzanne working on a wreath

Suzanne working on a wreath

wreath and arrangement finished

wreath and arrangement finished

I worked on my sashing for my Red Crinoline Quilt pattern “Star of the West”. I had to get all of my sashing pieces made and then to lay out the 30 blocks. It was nice to be able to use the design walls at Wimberley Quilt Ranch; it is one of perks I sure enjoy there. Little by little I was able to construct my rows and I eventually got the main part of the quilt done. Now I just have to do the borders, but I have to decide what fabric I want to use.

Star of the West all laid out

Star of the West all laid out

my center finished

my center finished

I started working on my churn dash blocks for my Cynthia Regone pattern “Happy Harvest”. I got 2 sets done before it was time for us to pack up and head home. I am enjoying the house, it is very quiet without David and my little dog not here, but I will get her from the boarding place in the morning.

churn dash

churn dash

these are ready

these are ready

I got Mom home about 5:30 or so and then headed home and got home a little before 6. Unloaded the car and I decided I had to go check on the house and see how things had changed. The sheetrock guys finished up in the entry and in the den, they finished the texture and it looks pretty good. The painter put on a coat of color upstairs in the bedroom and bathrooms. I’m using the same color in all the rooms – I thought that would make it a little easier. Now we are talking! As you may know, it is all in the details.

beige on the walls in the red room

beige on the walls in the red room

back porch beige

back porch beige

I have a full list again tomorrow, but I am truly blessed. I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

