Concrete Fisherman

Saturday was set for concrete but as you may have guessed by now – it was a no show. I’ve decided that this guy was a fisherman at sometime in his life and has learned how to stretch the truth or maybe it’s the way I understand him (really the lack thereof). I hoped for concrete on Monday and then on Tuesday and I didn’t really count on it for Wednesday. Just maybe one day this week, but I’m not sure that is likely to happen either!

With that disappointment I will just keep to positive happenings in the house, or at least try to because it really doesn’t help me to be anxious and it is TOTALLY out of my control! The good news with that, is there is a lot going on inside now.

Grant had his work cut out for him with his structure project. It surprises me sometimes how creative people can be in order to accomplish what they do with low “means”. He didn’t have heavy equipment and it was just him to get the ceiling raised in the den and leveled the floor upstairs in the hall. It was almost like a forest in the den but it worked while he was able to brace the floor joists.

beam work above the fireplace

beam work above the fireplace

more header work in the entry

more header work in the entry

more above the fireplace

more above the fireplace

a forest in the den

a forest in the den

support

support

more support

more support

Monday I worked on my lovie project and I had a terrible time getting and/or staying on task with it. Have you ever started a project and not really know how to tackle it and for some reason it just lingers on forever. Well this project was like that for me, plus I wanted to work on something else that I knew how and what to do. I finally got through the tough part and then last night I finally finished them.

my little project

my little project

Monday night was Lakeview guild meeting and our guest speaker was Sally Collins who does amazing miniature quilts and I mean truly amazing. Some of them finished at 9 inches or so. I wished I had been able to attend her workshop. She spends a lot of time pressing and in some cases trims her seams.

book by Sally Collins

book by Sally Collins

her use of color

her use of color

amazing piecing

amazing piecing

this was really small

this was really small

I loved this one

I loved this one

this was inside the above, just closer up

this was inside the above, just closer up

this is the back of one of her pieces

this is the back of one of her pieces

another back

another back

Before work, Tuesday morning I went to the house since I didn’t have time to see it Monday and the sheetrock people really went to town. They worked in the bedrooms, dining, kitchen, back porch and in all the bathrooms – really all over the house for that matter. But I do think the biggest impacts were made in the master bathroom (it looks much bigger now that it only has one entrance) and the back porch. It is pretty exciting.

new bathroom

new bathroom

the red room

the red room

my 30's bathroom

my 30’s bathroom

the back porch

the back porch

master bath

master bath

Wednesday morning I needed to let them know what I thought about texture. They did a sample for the walls and ceiling in the pantry. I think it will be fine. They got all the texture done upstairs today. Grant finished the den area this evening so I guess they will come back tomorrow and finish the den and entry.

ceiling texture

ceiling texture

wall texture

wall texture

I went home to put the final touches on my lovies and to make a pincushion. In case you ever want to make a pincushion if you really want it to be thick, use a chopstick or a pencil to help pack the filling. It makes a huge difference – you will like the results.

I like the redbird

I like the redbird

all stuffed

all stuffed

After David got off work today he went to the house and made the final “leafy” cut on the Ash tree. It was kind of fun to watch him. He did a great job! He also cut a place in the wall for the cable and he and I marked the doors and the doorways for them to go back to their original place.

the last of the tree

the last of the tree

my lumberjack

my lumberjack

there she blows

there she blows

now to get it ready for heavy trash

now to get it ready for heavy trash

I think you are officially up to date now, still no concrete. Maybe if I don’t expect it, it will come! Ha!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Concrete Fisherman

  1. Linda LaBrot says:

    So exciting to see the Sheetrock going up. So sorry about the MIA concrete. Thanks for the fabulous Sara Collins trunk show. Her work amazes me. One of her minis is on the bucket list.

Leave a Reply

