A Little Closer

It seems like things are a little closer and I really mean a little! The past couple of days it seems more like progress is at a snails pace at the house. If you know me or have been keeping up with all this, hopefully you’ve figured out that I’m not the patient type. I do like to have my ducks in a row and I’m somewhat prepared for a little detour but I find a big detour a challenge.

Since we didn’t get the permit until late Thursday it really delayed progress with the insulation, etc., etc.! I had hoped that insulation would start today, but not in the cards just yet. I am reminded that “construction” is a process and it does not always happen like I want or how I want it. Yesterday I drove by the house and David was working to finish taking down the trim and I was so deflated that I went home and decided that I would just SEW! And I did! I worked on half of my bag 3 of my Judy Niemeyer’s Captain’s Wheel. At least my pouting was somewhat productive.

I had an appointment with Charles to work on our logo – that was fun and it will be exciting to see what they come up with! After that I drove to Mom and Dad’s to work on Mom’s computer, but that didn’t work out at all. I stayed there for over an hour and nothing to speak of it. I’m searching for a woodworker to repair some of our windows, but so far, no such luck.

On my way home, I drove via LaPorte to see if someone was working at the house. Luckily there were 2 crews, they were the plumbing and the concrete crews – they were there working on the new building. They ran the plumbing for the bath outside and did the testing and were waiting for the approval from the city before proceeding.

craft room new bath

craft room new bath

another view of the plumbing

another view of the plumbing

we passed!

we passed!

The concrete guy is always quick to try and explain what is going on, I try to understand, but I’m not sure I understand what all he needs to do. If I understand him correctly they cleaned up the piers and they need sand. Bottom line is no floor.

the piers are cleaned up

the piers are cleaned up

We drove home and later drove to the appliance store and got the new washer/dryer, stove, refrigerator, microwave and dishwasher. That is taken care of and they are holding them for us until we are ready. I did one of the bids back on the landscaping and that was exciting – I’m not sure if we will go with them but I count that as progress.

We did get back to the retreat house and I worked on the door and finished up one side while David moved all of the trim to the garage area.

We called it an early out and came home! Even though things are not as advanced as I’d like, I am truly blessed! I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

