A Good Day for a Good Day!

I love this phrase; I saw it on an episode of HGTV’s show called “Fixer Upper”. It sums it up pretty well!

Yesterday went pretty well, after work I decided to drive by Star Furniture and see what they had in regards to a sofa, I walked in the store and around 30 minutes and no one asked to help me until I was about out the door. I was NOT a happy camper! So I decided to go up the road to Ethan Allen. They were much more accommodating and had a cheerful smile and warm welcome for me when I opened the door and walked in. I guess that is one of the reasons they charge more for their furniture. ☺ I found out that they take 8-12 weeks for delivery and that pretty much knocks them out of contention! It was sure fun looking at all of the styles and textiles on furniture. It’s funny how you forget what new furniture looks like and how expensive everything seems to be.

I went from there to the retreat house to check on any changes, not many to speak of at all. The inspector came but didn’t get to see anything because no one was there and he didn’t call anyone to tell him where the key was! Ugh! So we lost Tuesday with no work on the house.

Outside they dug out where the porch is going to be and finished digging the last of the huge trench around the base and they had strung string across the base. I’m not sure what that is for – hopefully for the good. I guess it wasn’t a total loss, and we had more rain so I try not to even ask when the pour will take place. Maybe one of these days I will be pleasantly surprised!

the outside is all dug up

the outside is all dug up

another string

another string

another view of the porch

another view of the porch

Today’s list was a mile long, I had things that needed to be done and I stayed on task pretty well. I even took our dog to the groomer and poor thing, I forgot all about her until they gave me another call. I sure felt bad about it; she was one happy dog when I got there.

We did get approval from the city to press forward inside the house! yippee!

moving forward!  wahoo!

moving forward! wahoo!

Outside they did smooth out where the cement will be poured!

all smooth - hopefully a good sign

all smooth – hopefully a good sign

I had an appointment with the “window treatment” expert Gretchen today. That was great and went very well! I told her about my experience yesterday on sofa shopping and she was so surprised. She and I ended up going to Bassett Furniture and then she took me gently back to Star. Luckily we didn’t have the same experience that I had yesterday and we actually made a few decisions in regards to furniture and drapes (really window treatments). It was more fun having someone there that is more knowledgeable regarding design.

this was a bargain and I think it will look great with my other chairs!

this was a bargain and I think it will look great with my other chairs!

upholstery choices

upholstery choices

window treatment

window treatment

After that she drove me back to the retreat house where David was working to remove trim in the kitchen and dining room. I’ve been toying with the idea of taking out the “built-in” in the dining room and I decided to talk to her about it. I really like it, but it really messes up my kitchen cabinet design, like where the cabinets and countertop can go on that side of the kitchen. It needs a huge amount of work, there’s a lot of paint on it and not to mention a little awkward looking. The hardware that I love you can’t even see and I could get a piece of antique furniture and put there and accomplish the same thing and still have a “normal” functioning kitchen. As much as I like it, I don’t have enough “good” about it, so I asked David to take it out.

trim off the door into the den

trim off the door into the den

the fake legs off the build in.

the fake legs off the build in.

behind the built-in, inside the kitchen

behind the built-in, inside the kitchen

I did get to work on the door a little more, but I had to go get the dog! The stripper works much better if you let it sit on it a little longer! Go figure – read the instructions!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Good Day for a Good Day!

  1. Linda LaBrot says:

    Was going to suggest Gallery Furniture until I read you had better luck back at Star. Might need some pointers from you as that is our next phase after new floors are laid this week. Don’t you love inspections. All is looking good. Really enjoying reading the updates.

Leave a Reply

