In the Trenches

Well we hit a bit of a snag with permits for remodeling, somehow that fell in the cracks and we thought we could get the insulation person started today or Friday, but it looks like that is going to be held up to next week.

The air conditioning person showed up Wednesday to vent the new bathroom and to fix the vent in the ceiling on the back porch. Those are now fixed and ready to go. Good news with that.

the new vent in the bathroom

the new vent in the bathroom

We seem to be getting all the area rain in LaPorte, which is good but not when it is connected to concrete. The concrete guys have been hand digging the trenches around the piers. The piers that were dug and poured we 10 feet and I’m not sure how deep the trenches are but that are significantly deep too. The hand dug the trenches half of the outside on Wednesday. I’m thinking the rain was good to help them work with soften dirt – but they were gone when I got there so this might be their grave! Not really, but it just might be mine if I were digging all that dirt out! The concrete man told me that this building isn’t going to go anywhere! I do believe he is right!

trenches

trenches

halfway around

halfway around

Also on Wednesday David worked on sheetrock in the den and the ceiling in there as well.

den

den

I was given the job to find another glass doorknob set and 2 sets of hinges but I didn’t have any luck. I’ve been finding lots of treasures at “Mike’s Antique Station” on Main Street in downtown LaPorte and for some reason I struck out and decided to try the antique store just next door, Vicki’s Antiques to see what they had. She had a lot of good stuff too and I just happen to find a cute cookie jar. It is a McCoy and I found one on EBay but didn’t get it, so when I spotted this one I decided it needed to come home with me.

my cute cookie jar

my cute cookie jar

I also made a little more progress on my Judy Niemeyer’s Captain’s Wheel. I have half of my bag 2 finished. I’ve been told that it isn’t a race. Ha! ☺

some of bag 2

some of bag 2

Thursday after work I drove over to the house to see what progress had taken place and the concrete guys finished the trench around the piers. That alone is rather impressive, but you know – I want more! 😉

the other half

the other half

trench goes all the way around

trench goes all the way around

our rain puddle

our rain puddle

David worked on the sheetrock in the entry, he was successful and got that finished. While I was there I got to watch and I’m always eager to see the wallpaper. Today I actually noticed that there was a border at the top. It isn’t that big, but I do think it is sweet and a little more “fancy” than I would have expected that they would have had for that time or home style.

this side down

this side down

now for the wall under the stairs

now for the wall under the stairs

a better view of the wood in the den and entry

a better view of the wood in the den and entry

see the border print

see the border print

another view of the border

another view of the border

I left to go to the bee meeting and we had a great time, everyone had show and tell. It was great, a very talented group that I’m a part of!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Antiques, Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

