We Have A Red Door

About the only thing that is good in this heat is ice cream, sleeping and sewing! It is so hot outside – the sewing machines are up and running at Cheryl’s house. We had planned my birthday sewing event for this weekend but we have had a few bumps along the way. Brenda informed us that her husband had planned a trip for them and evidentially added a few days on to the beginning and she would not be able to join us. Normally we would have re-scheduled but with fall quickly approaching and our full calendars we decided to carry on with our event. I got to Cheryl’s house Thursday afternoon and setup shop in her sewing area. We impatiently waited for Cathy to arrive. Upon Cathy arrival, she told us that she was NOT feeling well, so she just hung out and visited and she ended up going to be early. The next morning, she was still not feeling well but went into work and later went to the doctor only to be diagnosed with strep throat! Not good! She ended up NOT returning, that was good for her and us, but still not what any of us had wished or what we desired. Sad and pouty face!

Thursday right before I left the house I checked the mail and look what surprise I received in the mail from my niece, Joanna! It is so very cute!!! Thank you so much Joanna, I love the little owl and I really appreciate you thinking of us.

my sweet little owl

my sweet little owl

My plan of action – I brought over 3 small projects that only needed an inner boarder and an outer border. I need to finish something! I needed to finish up my Pam Buda Market Day sew along, both sizes and my blue nine patch miniature that I started in May. They were first on the list and thank goodness I was able to finish those!

this is the mini quilt

this is the mini quilt

the same thing but bigger

the same thing but bigger

my 9-patch with the inner border

my 9-patch with the inner border

my 9-patch all finished

my 9-patch all finished

The plumbers finished venting all the pipe and they ran new water lines to the new bath.

the piping before it goes in

the piping before it goes in

the new connections for the washer

the new connections for the washer

water lines for the new bathroom

water lines for the new bathroom

Guess what! The painter painted the front door and it’s screen door and the side door. I was a little nervous about this, even though I’ve always wanted a red door I wasn’t sure how it would look in my craftsman styled house. But I think it will be great! What do you think?

my red front door

my red front door

my door with the screen door all painted

my door with the screen door all painted

my red side door

my red side door

Centerpoint came and moved the gas meter or the line for the meter and David started working on removing the sheetrock in the dining room and he got about one third of that done.

the  new home for the gas line

the new home for the gas line

more sheetrock down

more sheetrock down

the was a door and they covered it up

the was a door and they covered it up

another view of where the door way at one time

another view of where the door way at one time

Friday I dragged Cheryl to an estate sale in Pearland and we found a few treasures for the retreat house and then we had to do a drive by and see what was going on at the house. The floor man was there working on the repair of the floor and it looks good.

this was the worst place that needed repaired, it looks great now

this was the worst place that needed repaired, it looks great now

this is where the wall was and they placed lumber here

this is where the wall was and they placed lumber here

Since it was just Cheryl and I for sewing we decided to invite the menfolk over for dinner. It was very nice to have them over; we had a wonderful dinner and even decided to invite them back over for dinner Saturday night.

A little progress on the craft room – they have the rebar ready for the pillars, I sure hope they are ready to poor on Monday!

all the grass removed

all the grass removed

rebar

rebar

a different angle

a different angle

this is for the new concrete

this is for the new concrete

for the pillars

for the pillars

We went back to Cheryl’s and there we worked on our Judy Niemeyer’s Captain’s Wheel pattern. I started working on my 64, “A” units. I love the little section in the middle, it reminds me of a man’s vest and tie!

my little vest and tie for the captain's wheel

my little vest and tie for the captain’s wheel

I am so truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We Have A Red Door

  1. Linda LaBrot says:

    Love the little quilts! Retreat house appears to be moving along. Keep the pics coming.

Leave a Reply

