Door and More

Yesterday was a workday and I needed to go “shower” shopping, so I stopped by Home Depot on my way home in League City to see if I could find something I liked and something that would fit in my space. One of the criteria missing from this was – would it fit in my car! Even though I have a fairly roomy SUV, that shower was NOT going to fit. At the last minute I decided the one I liked was too big for my space and I ended up abandoning my task!

We (Cheryl, Brenda, Cathy and I) met at Cheryl’s house for a block party. They had made blocks for a quilt top for the retreat house and we put them on Cheryl’s design wall. It is going to look so good, I can’t wait to see it all done. You girls are awesome!

love all the blocks

love all the blocks

a closer view with border fabric

a closer view with border fabric

This morning I drove over to the retreat house to meet a contractor and the floor guy was there, he got all the floors repaired upstairs and they look pretty good.

Guess what, the strings are now boards! Not really, but they have now put wood up around the string for the concrete. It IS really going to be a room! I’m very glad I’m not the one having to clear all the grass around outside. He was working slow and steady.

look we have boards

look we have boards

these 2 boards will be a porch area

these 2 boards will be a porch area

Oh and look at the back porch now – David cleaned up the area, it had become a dumping ground and the wall at the end of the porch is now gone. It looks so much better all opened up!

the back porch all clean

the back porch all clean

I also went upstairs and now the wall was removed in the end bathroom. A little more progress there.

upstairs bath without old walls

upstairs bath without old walls

After that I drove back to Home Depot for more shower shopping. I finally decided that I could get the shower I wanted and after doing a lot of thinking, I decided to purchase it and let David go and pick it up later. I also got another door – the ranch style one I chose needed to be a metal one, it would “weather” better, so now we need to return the other one. I do like it!

our newest back door

our newest back door

Tonight David ended up cleaning up in the dining room. It is funny how all the floors become “bone piles” of debris or a collection of wood that we need to keep but we don’t need to use it right now. David did a wonderful job! Now the floor guy can do the floor repair downstairs.

clean dining room

clean dining room

our new shower base

our new shower base

Last and definitely not least, the plumbing is coming along – it is actually in position and sealed, they are to start laying water lines tomorrow! Wahoo!

pipe downstairs for the new upstairs bathroom

pipe downstairs for the new upstairs bathroom

this sheetrock is gone in the master bath

this sheetrock is gone in the master bath

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

