We Have Strings

Yesterday after I unpacked and rested a bit we drove over to the house and I got to see the changes that had taken place while I was at Wimberley.

David has been relentless in removing the sheetrock in the bedrooms and other places that need to be removed. He removed the sheetrock in the master bath and then moved upstairs to the “purple” bedroom. He took it all down and just the bare walls look much better than that awful color, but they will cover all of the wood later – maybe next week.

no more purple

no more purple

David also worked more on trimming down the Arizona Ash tree that is in our front yard. Somehow we inherited two of worst trees that are in our area, the Ash tree and the “Chinaberry” tree. We both have a very strong dislike for those trees. Once he gets them down low enough he will bring out the chain saw for the last blow! We have heavy trash pickup this week and they will haul it all off.

more of the tree gone, I will miss the shade it gave

more of the tree gone, I will miss the shade it gave

We also have new pipe in the back two bathrooms!

pipe in the upstairs bath

pipe in the upstairs bath

more upstairs pipe

more upstairs pipe

Best of all, the people in charge of the new building have marked where the building will go – that is a good sign and it sure looks good. I was talking to John regarding issues and it seems that the city would only allow us to have a building with a maximum height of 15 feet. I intended to meet with the city today but it turns out that we are not limited to 15 feet, so we are good and we can proceed!

stakes!

stakes!

I had talked with our floor man and we scheduled him to come in and do patch repairs in the floors, so I met him this morning and got that going just a little.

While I was there this morning they were hanging string to mark where the concrete and pillars will go, it is getting better and the plan is to have the pour scheduled for Friday!

strings outside

strings outside

strings from the back

strings from the back

This evening I drove back to the house to see what other progress there was and we have pipe in the walls for the new bathroom. David got the dirty job to clean out the back porch – somehow it became the “wood” dumping ground and there was a terrible pile in there.

pipe for the new bathroom

pipe for the new bathroom

I collected the last month of the batik Faceted Jewel 4-1/2 inch half-square triangles and I even pre-sorted them and I was able to pass them out tonight. Hallelujah, I’m so glad that is finished. Now to finish up the civil war swap!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches, Quilts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

