Captain’s Wheel Adventure

Thursday morning I loaded up the car and drove to Wimberley Quilt Ranch where I teamed up with Denise Green of HollyDee Quilts for our first Judy Niemeyer retreat. Denise was teaching 11 ladies, including myself how to make “Captain’s Wheel”. This is a “paper pieced” project and all of Judy’s patterns are very well written but for me, it does need an interpreter and Denise Green sure fits the bill for that. She does do most of my quilting, but she is a certified teacher for Judy Niemeyer. If you should ever need her services I’m sure she would be elated to lecture at your guild/group.

this is Denise's quilt

this is Denise’s quilt

I had the pleasure of coordinating our event and every retreat needs food and since meals are not included at WQR I agreed to be the cook. I planned my menus and did my grocery shopping and I did some pre-cooking just to make the meals come together a little quicker. I would like to note that I had a “captive” audience and they were very gracious and complimentary regarding my cooking. I made 3 breakfasts, only one lunch, 3 dinners and 2 cakes while we were there. It was a challenge to cook outside of my comfortable kitchen, but it is in the books, now to review what worked and what didn’t and how to plan better for our next event. Our next event will be at Wimberley Quilt Ranch, our date is January 29-Feburary 1, 2015. Denise will be teaching “Fire Island Hosta”. If you are interested let us know as soon as possible as we are limited to only 10 students at the ranch.

our first dinner

our first dinner

Banana Split cake

Banana Split cake

We got started on our projects Thursday afternoon and I do enjoy seeing how everyone what color choices they have made regarding “their” quilt. Most everyone decided to use batiks, but we did have 2 rebels – Michelle chose Kaffee fabrics and I was determined NOT to use batiks and when I saw this pattern, I immediately saw it in red, white and blue! Moda’s fabric designers – Minick and Simpson just released their line called “Lexington” and I teamed up their line with 3 French General fabrics. I am very pleased how it is coming along, but there is a ton of thread in this project since it is paper pieced and Brenda W figured up that there are over 2000 pieces in this quilt. Nice! 😉

ok, here we go

ok, here we go

our mission to sew 9 out of 72

our mission to sew 9 out of 72

these are done

these are done

ok one set

ok one set

these belong to Belinda and Brenda

these belong to Belinda and Brenda

our happy teacher

our happy teacher

they bribed me

they bribed me

a little more progress

a little more progress

a close up

a close up

more progress, but still tons to do

more progress, but still tons to do

We also got to enjoy a fabulous trunk show by Denise; she has done several of Judy’s patterns, these are just a few of them.

here's another option for the Captain's wheel

here’s another option for the Captain’s wheel

Marinar's compass

Marinar’s compass

another option in gold and blacks

another option in gold and blacks

I like the blue too

I like the blue too

there is also the Christmas option

there is also the Christmas option

I love the colors in this one.  Hummmm

I love the colors in this one. Hummmm

I can’t say enough good things about this group; we had 3 ladies that traveled all the way from Corpus Christi area and 7 from the Houston area and for several this weekend was their first quilting retreat. We laughed and made new friends, this is an amazing hobby and I cherish all of my new friends that I am meeting along the way.

Our group!

Our group!

We took a group photo last night and I would set my timer and go run and get in place. After running to my spot 3 times Denise goes to her camera and retrieves a camera remote. That was a much better way to take a group photo and we had to do a FUN picture.

Denise having fun

Denise having fun

all of us have FUN

all of us have FUN

another fun shot

another fun shot

Last and definitely not least we took a picture of everyone’s block that they had been working on, it would be fun to see a “scrappy” quilt. Ladies, again thank you for the memories and making our first retreat a success!

our blocks

our blocks

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Quilts, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Captain’s Wheel Adventure

  1. Pingback: No Sleeping at this “Captain’s” Wheel – RETREAT! | hollydeequilts

Leave a Reply

