A Little of New

Yesterday seemed to fly by, I tried to cleanup in my playroom and for some reason whatever forward steps I took, I seemed to have taken 3 backwards. SEW things are messier than they were before I started!

I emailed our prints to FedEx/Kinko’s for the contractor to get them enlarged and headed off to get my car serviced. I ended up seeing Karen R at the Toyota dealership and it was nice to have a short little visit with her. Community Toyota recently moved into a new facility and it is very nice and they have big new spaces and comfy areas to sit. Normally it takes over an hour, but I was prepared to sit and stitch a little, but before I knew it, was time to go. I guess overall I can’t complain that it took too long! Ha!

I left there and went to the Painted Pony to finalize my fabric selections for my Judy Niemeyer’s Captain’s Wheel. I’m pretty excited about my choices, I just hope when I start putting it all together that it looks as good as I hope it does.

I picked up the plans and took to the house for the contractor, not much going on over there. Hopefully all the “behind the scenes” things are going well. David is trying to be encouraging but I’m not too sure about it all.

David and I have decided that we him are going to take out all of the sheetrock in the house. Time for me to take a deep breath! For some reason one of the previous homeowners along the way put sheetrock on top of the baseboards instead of behind the baseboards. Our mindset is to make it right and do it the correct way, but it sure is frustrating when people don’t do the things they should to begin with. Oh well, this is when I get the lesson to be concerned with the things I have in my control.

David started in the kitchen and removed all of the sheetrock in there and then went to the master bedroom.

whoops one piece of sheetrock missed

whoops one piece of sheetrock missed

more wood

more wood

all the sheetrock gone in the master (more wood)

all the sheetrock gone in the master (more wood)

I like this little note in the walls

I like this little note in the walls

sheetrock gone here too

sheetrock gone here too

I decided to drive straight home tonight and not go to the LaPorte house until I heard good news and/or the sun was going down. ☺ David calls to report progress and about 7 I drove over to the house. He was taking down the sheetrock in the master bathroom and it was only coming down in small chunks verses big pieces – therefore equals SLOW!

David working in the master bathroom

David working in the master bathroom

The lead plumber talked to us last night about where we wanted the piping for the new bathroom or really to make a choice between two options, and we did. The plumbers moved the bookshelf today and had removed some of the ceiling for the new pipe and they had drilled holes for the new fixtures. That was pretty exciting!

this wall is where the shelf was

this wall is where the shelf was

the is the ceiling or the floor below the new upstairs bath

the is the ceiling or the floor below the new upstairs bath

a new hole for the new toilet and you can see the old knob and tube wiring

a new hole for the new toilet and you can see the old knob and tube wiring

a view from the upstairs

a view from the upstairs

A bonus of NEW PVC pipe lying on the dining room floor and even some under the house! Indoor plumbing – what a marvelous idea! David even reported that they are going to start laying the pipe tomorrow! Wahoo!

this is where new pipes and toilets will be

this is where new pipes and toilets will be

look new pipe

look new pipe

something else NEW!

something else NEW!

While I was looking over things, I happen to notice a stake! That is something different too! Could it be? Well there is only one, but at least one is better than none and it means they are working on it!

a STAKE!

a STAKE!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

