Salvage Day

First off I want to give a big shout out of appreciation to my dear husband – we drove over to Mom and Dad’s house last night and we did their yard. He is now responsible for 3 yards and I just want him to know that I really appreciate his act of kindness and his willingness to take on their yard. He never complains about doing it and does a great job; his “yard ethic” is above reproach! Thank you, Babe for being so willing to help out my parents.

This morning I met my friend Peggy at the Corner Bakery on Yale for a wonderful breakfast and visit before we headed to Historic Houston Salvage. I was looking for doors and any other treasure that needed to be rescued. It was a great place to find salvage things, but it was very HOT! No air conditioning to be found in that place, but I did find a couple of 5-panel doors for the house and they had a book shelf at a good price and I decided it needed to come home with me.

this is at the Salvage Store

this is at the Salvage Store

my new doors

my new doors

the shelf we found

the shelf we found

After that we went to the Salvation Army Resale Store on Washington, it had a few good finds and after that we went to Heights Station on Heights Blvd and I snagged an antique trunk. It was a sweat box in there too, but we had a great time, plus it was really nice to meet up with Peggy – it has been too long since we’ve gotten together!

my trunk

my trunk

We didn’t really work at the house today but we did spy on the painter and he is coming along on the house. He even painted the ceiling on both of the porches and is actually working on the trim and it is looking better and better.

corner of the front porch with new ceiling color

corner of the front porch with new ceiling color

just a little idea of how it will look when finished - much better!

just a little idea of how it will look when finished – much better!

The plumbers are still working hard on taking out the pipe, which is one tough job! Since I was at the house I decided to snap a picture of the new door I got for the back porch.

this is the new door for the back porch

this is the new door for the back porch

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Antiques, Family, Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

