Pieceful Stitches Update

It was sure hard to leave the home front but I had committed myself to go with Cynthia back at the first of the year and I didn’t want to let her down, so off we went. David was great back at the house keeping up with odds and ends, but that is the way he rolls and I’m very proud of that – he is greatly appreciated!

While I was gone he worked a good bit in the yard. We had two giant cedar trees that flanked the outside fireplace and really kind of hid it in a way so we decided to cut those down and he took care of that. David also cut down the “chinaberry tree”, we have a very strong dislike for them and it had to go. It is mostly gone; we just need to get the trunk and the base taken out. He cleaned out the flowerbed where I had trimmed all the hedges and it looks great. Every Saturday he seems to have a trash pile that accumulates and took it to the dump.

before

before

in progress

in progress

limbs left for heavy trash pickup

limbs left for heavy trash pickup

cedar trees before

cedar trees before

another view of the cedar trees

another view of the cedar trees

no more cedar

no more cedar

what is left where the cedar trees were

what is left where the cedar trees were

this is where he cleaned the flowerbed

this is where he cleaned the flowerbed

David cleared the alley in the very back

David cleared the alley in the very back

Inside the electricians returned and have all of the wires in their respective outlet boxes, they are all tidy now. Grant, the framer continues his rework of the walls and bracing the ceiling. He did frame in the little closet in the master and was working on the master bedroom door when we left last night.

David also removed the wall heater that was in the dining room/den area.

wall heater gone

wall heater gone

Grant finished the wall removal in both of the upstairs bedrooms and they are now larger – they look so much better. Remember the window that was inside the pantry? It is now out and he moved it upstairs where we thought we could use it, but it seems a little large for the space and now I’m not sure if we should use it or not. Darn! Look at the space where it was! It is probably the best-preserved window in the house!

back bedroom without the closet

back bedroom without the closet

walls ready and the header is done

walls ready and the header is done

Grant found the floors

Grant found the floors

the end bedroom walls are ready for sheetrock now

the end bedroom walls are ready for sheetrock now

my window that was in the pantry

my window that was in the pantry

see the weights that the window used

see the weights that the window used

this is where the window was from the outside

this is where the window was from the outside

another view of the back porch without the siding

another view of the back porch without the siding

David uncovered this wallpaper

David uncovered this wallpaper

The painter started working on the house, but some how the color isn’t the right one. We are not sure what happened, the mix up was at the store, but they are working on that now. It was to be a light grey and now it is a light blue. It looks ok, just not what I was hoping for.

this is what they bought

this is what they bought

this is what it looks like in the upper area.  what I wanted was in the lower left area square

this is what it looks like in the upper area. what I wanted was in the lower right square area

Best of all, David surprised me with a project that he did for me. Back in 2011, I traveled to Nebraska and Iowa with some friends and we saw several “quilt barn tiles”. They are proudly displayed on building and barns in rural places, I fell in love with them and hoped one day to be able to have one of my own. I had talked to David and I finally decided on which one I wanted (it was hard to decide, I loved several). He made it for me and he did a wonderful job! I am so blessed!

my quilt barn tile

my quilt barn tile

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pieceful Stitches Update

  1. The barn quilt is beautiful. 🙂

  2. Tasha says:

    I am truly blessed to be able to experience this adventure with you through your words. It is looking good -it will be beautiful!

  3. Margie says:

    I, too, am enjoying all ya’lls hard work!! Looking great!

Leave a Reply

