More Demo

I am beginning to wonder when we will ever finish the end of the demolition, it won’t be this weekend!

The electrical is moving right along and I am really enjoying the crew that I’m working with – they are a great team. Even though they are kicking up some dust I think they have done a lot in a short period of time.

the end bedroom, the electricians helped with the demo so they made room for the wiring.

the end bedroom, the electricians helped with the demo so they made room for the wiring.

they had to make a big whole for the new wiring, it was that or several holes, so I went with one long one

they had to make a big whole for the new wiring, it was that or several holes, so I went with one long one

the kitchen ceiling

the kitchen ceiling

At the end of each day I’ve been cleaning up the messes we all make so that when we come in the next day it will be easier for everyone to see where they are and make the most progress. Now I don’t know if that is helpful or not, but in my mind it sure is, so I do it. I was teasing the team and telling them that they were sure giving me a run for my money – as they made an awful mess Saturday.

Friday our goal was to finish the demo in the 2 upstairs bathrooms and to start removing the paneling in the end bedroom and to start removing the wall that housed the closet.

the bathroom wall gone

the bathroom wall gone

more tear down in the blue bathroom

more tear down in the blue bathroom

I was trying to decide to keep or redo

I was trying to decide to keep or go

I also went to Proven Products to do some appliance shopping. It was fun and I really made all of my decisions very quickly – I was surprised how painless it was, the salesman was very kind and made my long list not so daunting. Oh course he didn’t mind that I had a “long list”. 😉 Ivy, thanks for the suggestion to go there!

After my appliance shopping I drove back to the house to meet the contractor, John and his framer, Grant. We had a mini planning session and the framer came back to start on Saturday. David and I worked to remove the shelving in the downstairs bedroom, as the framer was to work on adding an entry and framing in the existing hole.

the downstairs closet before demo

the downstairs closet before demo

Saturday morning it was great outside and since it had rained I thought I would work to try and remove some of the ginger that is trying to take over an area at the edge of the yard. That proved to be very difficult – I did some, but after a while I decided to work on the hedges. I had my lobbers and was doing some trimming and then David came out and asked me if I wanted to use his “power” tree trimmer. I said sure, he had to remove the long pole as I didn’t have that long of a reach and then it became a small chain saw of sorts. I got all the hedges trimmed down and now when the painter comes in he won’t have to enter the jungle. It sure looks different over there. I did call a couple of people for landscaping appointments but nothing on that yet.

all of the hedges gone

all of the hedges gone

David finished the 2 bathroom demos and removed all of the paneling in the bedroom and we are going to extend the wall about 2 feet to make the bathroom a little longer so the toilet and sink won’t be so crowded.

David working on the wall next to the bathroom where we are going to move the wall out.

David working on the wall next to the bathroom where we are going to move the wall out.

the end room where the closet was

the end room where the closet was

in the end bedroom all the demo is done

in the end bedroom all the demo is done

Grant removed the wall in the downstairs bedroom and the wall that will be the new entry to the closet. With the wall gone, it sure opens up the room. He is very meticulous and he is even going to re-use some of the wood that he took down. Wahoo! That room totally looks different now, exciting stuff!

one closet wall down in the downstairs bedroom

one closet wall down in the downstairs bedroom

work on the closet (it stays)

work on the closet (it stays)

it shows the new opening

it shows the new opening

We had a shorter workday on Saturday. We went home cleaned up and then met Cathy and Rex back at the house to show them and then go to dinner to celebrate her birthday! When we got there the electricians were pulling out and they had done a pretty good clean up. I was pleasantly surprised – less for me to have to do.

Cathy helped me decide on paint colors and then we worked on the kitchen layout. Our painter suggested that if I go white on the trim that it will show dirt and then it will also not match the window screens. The light gray and the dark gray do not have enough contrast so I’m going to have to go lighter on the house. I decided that I needed to change it some and I need to get a different color for the interior wall, my beige has a pink tint to it – and I don’t like it. So the saga continues with paint choices.

Off to dinner we went and then home to play 42 with them. We had a great evening! It was nice to set back and enjoy a dust free zone! Ha!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

