Treasure Day

David and I took it easy this morning (me more than him). He did the yard at home while I did computer work and then he went to LaPorte to do that yard and then work in the house. His goal was to finish the blue bathroom by removing the vanity, remove the washer and dryer and then demo the master bathroom – except leave the remaining toilet in the house.

He did a great job on the yard; it looks really good – thanks Babe! He also wanted to remove the small trim work that was put on the ceiling to cover the seams on the plywood. He did that and now the end bedroom is completely done. Thank goodness!

closet - this is all done

closet – this is all done

the vanity is now gone in the upstairs bath

the vanity is now gone in the upstairs bath

I forgot to show you a couple more pieces of wallpaper we found behind some of the sheetrock that was in the den and in the dining room. It sure makes me wonder about the stories that this house can tell. I have no doubt that this house will still be around longer than I will!

two more wallpaper pieces

two more wallpaper pieces

We thought it would just be him and I at the house working today but Grant, our framer needed to work on two doors so he worked. He got the door to the closet completely moved and tweaked it to work perfectly. It is strange that see how the door that was inside the closet is now on the outside. It looks pretty dingy but it will paint out nicely! He also finished removing the floor that was in the other closet and shelves. When we left he was moving the door into the room, it is really coming along.

the former closet all clear

the former closet all clear

the closet door is now in its new home

the closet door is now in its new home

I was cleaning up and moving things to the back building when I got a call from Brok and they were back in town and wanted to come by, so changed gears and went home to meet them. It was a very nice break and fun seeing them and the kids.

David was working on doing the demo in the master bathroom when I got back to the house. He had already taken out the washer and dryer and removed the vanity and was working on removing the 2 upper cabinets that were in there. When he was taking out the upper cabinet he came across a key and a necklace. He gave me the necklace and told me “happy birthday”. He was pulling a funny! When he handed me the key it was a skeleton key! I was so excited, so I decided to test it and see if it worked. The two doors that go into that bathroom have not been painted over – therefore the key WORKED!

the master bath vanity and uppers are gone

the master bath vanity and uppers are gone

the washer and dryer gone

the washer and dryer gone

When we were working in the blue bathroom removing the vanity he found the cutest little tomato pincushion. I had to grab it too! More treasures! Of course, I do love this house and I think it is a real treasure but I do wonder if we will remove some of the floor or wall and find a stash of money, but not today.

pincushion, necklace and key

pincushion, necklace and key

Sam and Claire Z. stopped by to see how things have changed and they are pretty excited for us! It is sure nice to have their family stamp of approval.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Treasure Day

  1. I think David has the key to your heart! Thanks for sharing your treasures!

  2. PS – you are a TREASURE!

  3. Brenda Winfield says:

    Ronda, I am amazed at how much you and David have already accomplished.

Leave a Reply

