“Q” is for…

Today “Q” is for Quest! I’m starting this at almost 10 p.m. and I’m still so excited I am not sure if I can sleep or not, but I’m sure I will since I’ve been up since 5:30 or so.

Since this past Saturday, I have been trying to re-start my running routine and I did a 4-mile walk/run with Brenda W and I’m kind of sore, but all this housework is helping to work some of it out.

This morning was a big day – our electrician showed up! He and his team will be working on the house and our contractor that will be constructing the new craft room also showed up and that in and of itself was a beautiful thing! I almost felt like it was the first day of school – pretty exciting. I walked around the house and we discussed changes. We got a very nice rain shower and after the rain stopped I decided I had better get on the road and head to hardware store, Home Depot and back to Sherwin-Williams.

One of the things the electrician said is that we can re-use our special light switches, so I needed a few more. I headed out to Adkins Architectural Antiques on Fannin to see if they had any. This place is the neatest place, it is a 3-story house built in 1912 they have TONS of old hardware and all kinds of other stuff. They didn’t have any switches but she was very helpful and I will have to do some more research on our “button switches”. They actually had several that they used in the house and she said they never wear out. I did find a switch plate cover and I found another treasure! – I noticed while looking around that they had these great tin letters and I asked her if she had the letter “Q” and she said she did! She found it and I just had to bring it home with me! While I was paying for it, I asked the young man at the counter, “Q is for?” and he gave me the strangest look! I told him, “Q” is for Quilting! The electrician had already told me that I was the Queen! I like that!

our button switch

our button switch

"Q" is for quilting

“Q” is for quilting

After I left there I decided to drive to the Greenway Plaza area and look at lighting stores since I need to pick out my lighting. We are going to use several LED can lights in the kitchen and the bathrooms, but the other lights we will need to provide. I got some good ideas, left there and drove to Home Depot and I got some lights.

Next stop was back to Sherwin-Williams, luckily it was almost 5 and they didn’t have anyone else in the store so I got all of the attention! It was a good thing, because I needed it. Cathy C had given me a good tip on a gray so I started there and picked a house color. Beginning tomorrow and through Monday all of their paint is 40% off! Score! I texted the paint man, just in case he didn’t already know and he was there getting some supplies! Right now the house is painted white and the trim is a dark blue-gray. I thought I would flip it and make the house a lighter gray and the trim all white and the porches a darker color – at least that is the plan for now! I have to go back in the morning so I can pick up my other samples at the sale price.

from left to right - Dovetail and the other is light classic gray.  I really like the light gray.

from left to right – Dovetail and the other is light classic gray. I really like the light gray.

David was working on the blue bathroom, doing demo and stirring up all kinds of dust by the time I got back to the house. The electricians were gone and there wasn’t electricity on in the house except for one place and we had to run an extension upstairs to be able to see. David was working away – he is good at tearing things up. ☺ He got a lot done! I was talking to him while he was clearing the back wall and I noticed that there was mesh in the wall and it was old wallpaper! So I asked him to save me a piece and he did! I love it!

part of the demo

part of the demo

before he gets it all out

before he gets it all out

the wire mesh

the wire mesh

more of the demo

more of the demo

notice the wood behind all the wire, it is so pretty

notice the wood behind all the wire, it is so pretty

notice the cloth mesh around the window

notice the cloth mesh around the window

bye to the sink

bye to the sink

next goes the vanity

next goes the vanity

When I was a little girl I remember going to take a nap in my Granny’s house in Denton and she had this type of wallpaper hanging in her bedroom and it had cracked, so I just had to pick at it! I still remember the wallpaper pattern; it was dark green and it had Water Lilies!

here is a close up of the wallpaper we saved

here is a close up of the wallpaper we saved

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Q” is for…

  1. Julie A. Moser says:

    Love the light grey on the outside of the house!

Leave a Reply

