It’s the Little Things

Today I had a meeting with the city to find out more information on the permits for the house. Every time I go to the city I’m a little excited and think I am ready for their questions and for mine and both times I have come away deflated and disappointed. I was so upset after todays meeting I was about ready to throw in the towel, but David keeps encouraging me to stay the course. They told me that all the wiring in the house was going to have to be “commercial grade”. How do old buildings reach code? Maybe answers will come tomorrow!

My sweet hubby has been working his fingers to the bone or his legs to the bone. After all he did over the weekend he is a bit tired, but it just keeps getting better and better.

After he got off of work today he drove to the house and worked on taking out the paneling in the closet in the front (purple) bedroom. We are going to convert this closet into a bathroom. It looks so different! We even took down the door so we can put paint thinner on the screws so we can clean up the hardware.

closet before

closet before

after some of the demo

after some of the demo

more demo

more demo

more of the closet demo

more of the closet demo

IMG_7468

I really like the old wood in the closet, not sure how this will be, but we had to get rid of the paneling.  it was even on the ceiling.

I really like the old wood in the closet, not sure how this will be, but we had to get rid of the paneling. it was even on the ceiling.

I went around taking off outlet covers, nails in the wall, one door knob, old blinds, some of the screws came down and some are still there, I think they have been there a while. Tonight we even pulled old phone wiring out. I could not help but think about all the rage of having more than one phone in the house. I thought of how great it was when we had a “yellow princess phone” in our room. I would sneak the phone under my covers when I should have been sleeping and talk to my boyfriend, Bennie as we had our “own” phone line. Those were the days! Yes, I was a little rebel at times!

the front of the door had a lock, I removed that

the front of the door had a lock, I removed that

the inside of the door.  notice the lovely color

the inside of the door. notice the lovely color

my sweet door knob.  we ended up bringing the door home to do some work on it here.

my sweet door knob. we ended up bringing the door home to do some work on it here.

old phone jack

old phone jack

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

